Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2008, 05:01 PM
wilseven wilseven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York, NY, US
Posts: 6
Default 002r (Digi CoreAudio, I suspect) cuts out constantly

Hi -

I have been trying to use the 002r on my machine and it has been very spotty. I mostly use it with Logic, and iTunes. I liked recording audio in PT better than Logic, but the included software instruments have lured me away from PT for a lot of my work.

Anyway, the audio cuts out all the time (just stops working, usually. sometimes I get an error), and I need to reboot the app in question (which reboots digi core audio) to get it to work again. Then it will work, only to cut out later when I'm just getting going on something.

system is:

Mac Pro 2.66 x 2 (dual core)
currently using 10.4.10 - have tried rolling back to 10.4.9 and it made no difference
7.3.1 cs5
3 GB
have tried with other attached peripherals (NI Guitar Rig, Firewire drive), but have also tried with none
2 SATA drives installed

Have tried:
1. rolling back the OS to 10.4.9
2. installing a new power bridge in my 002r
3. no airport, no bluetooth on this computer (always the case)
4. have turned off energy saver
5. have turned off firewire networking
6. have disabled spotlight indexing
7. have checked my 002r serial (not A-F, ends in H)
8. have called digi
9. have called sweetwater

I am pretty sure this is not a hardware issue because
1. it often craps out specifically when I am doing something in software (I start recording audio in a new track while it is playing)
2. i can play audio through it and it never craps out, if I just put the audio in from the line out and use the alt src to mon button

I would really LIKE to use PT as well, but the next thing I am about to try is uninstalling PT because I have heard that doing this and using the standalone drivers may be a fix.

Ironic that PT hardware would be the thing forcing me to no longer use PT software...

Anyway, I'm at the end of my rope here. If anyone can provide a fix, I would be forever grateful.

thanks -
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2008, 05:34 PM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,107
Default Re: 002r (Digi CoreAudio, I suspect) cuts out constantly

Some things to try,

1. A replacement F/W cable.
2. Plug into different F/W ports (both Mac and 002)

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2008, 06:37 PM
wilseven wilseven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York, NY, US
Posts: 6
Default Re: 002r (Digi CoreAudio, I suspect) cuts out constantly

first off, thanks for the response. really appreciate it.

I have, unfortunately tried both those things without it helping. I was told to definitely use the back port and not the front port.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2008, 09:32 PM
wilseven wilseven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York, NY, US
Posts: 6
Default Re: 002r (Digi CoreAudio, I suspect) cuts out constantly

Have now also tried creating a separate login only for working with music apps. also no go.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2008, 07:04 AM
rpb1966 rpb1966 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North London
Posts: 147
Default Re: 002r (Digi CoreAudio, I suspect) cuts out constantly

Im not sure here but it would not be the power harness prob again?........

A-F OK is this where the power harness problems start

H Sorted by Digi.

Sorry I'm not trying to hi-jack this thread, I am not sure what models were affected by the harness problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Digi 002R, OSX 10.4.8 - CoreAudio Can't find hardware jdimoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-25-2007 08:37 PM
Digi CoreAudio Constantly Launching Tim Bechtel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-09-2006 06:53 AM
Input cuts out on Digi 002R Pont68 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-07-2006 10:42 AM
New CoreAudio Standalone constantly launching? brianwyrick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-19-2005 09:34 AM
Audio during playback constantly cuts out 3rdstory 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-04-2004 05:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com