Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2019, 07:47 AM
gdgross's Avatar
gdgross gdgross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 141
Default Elastic audio not committing

Hi all,

this has happened several times in the last month. have a tick based track which i've edited in elastic audio, I'd like to commit the changes, so I turn off EA and PT asks me if I want to commit or abandon the changes. I choose commit, but then I get a bunch of regions that look like the have no audio and produce no sound when played back (they look light blue like when PT can't find the audio file.)

Any ideas? I've already trashed my prefs.

Thanks
__________________
Geoff

www.merlotembargo.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2019, 10:16 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,272
Default Re: ELastic audio not committing

Quote:
Originally Posted by gdgross View Post
Hi all,

this has happened several times in the last month. have a tick based track which i've edited in elastic audio, I'd like to commit the changes, so I turn off EA and PT asks me if I want to commit or abandon the changes. I choose commit, but then I get a bunch of regions that look like the have no audio and produce no sound when played back (they look light blue like when PT can't find the audio file.)

Any ideas? I've already trashed my prefs.

Thanks
I know this isn't a direct solution to your problem, but you could always bus the track out and bounce it to a new track in real-time (just to get it taken care of quickly).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2019, 08:30 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,653
Default Re: ELastic audio not committing

Keep the Task Manager window open and see what's happening right after you hit commit.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2019, 07:15 AM
Muzoid Muzoid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: southeast VT
Posts: 525
Default Re: Elastic audio not committing

For a long time now, Elastic audio takes forever to commit. never used to do this!!! What is happening? I have PT Ultimate. After getting everything where I want it, I switch to X-form so the files have already been rendered (and that takes forever too!!!) but then hours to 'commit' a small # of tracks!!!

This is a complete session-killer. I definitely can't do this with a client present and can't do this if I need to keep working.. AVID, what is the deal? This is SO LAME!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2019, 07:50 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,919
Default Re: Elastic audio not committing

#1-what happens if you put the track in Samples mode?
#2-the trick to X-Form(for me) is to separate the audio into manageable clips that fit the screen. That way, X-Form is only rendering a smaller clip instead of the entire track For me, X-form is all I ever use for timing edits(Monophonic and Polyphonic both introduce glitches in the audio). I do use Polyphonic for changing pitch

I've never had EA not commit, but you could do a Track Commit as that would(SHOULD) render a new audio clip with the EA moves "baked" in
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:42 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,223
Default Re: Elastic audio not committing

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
the trick to X-Form(for me) is to separate the audio into manageable clips that fit the screen.
Yes, and to add to that - don't process EA on tracks with large areas of blank audio. Cut them into separate clips and consolidate each individual clip first.

I also don't commit X-form on a bunch of tracks at the same time - PT sometimes freezes up when doing that.
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does this count as a bug? Elastic Audio not committing midnightrambler Pro Tools 12 1 02-04-2016 09:03 AM
Elastic Audio - Sounds Dreadful after committing alex s macOS 9 10-10-2013 02:39 PM
Have to manually clean up rendered files after committing elastic audio processing jdholman1 Pro Tools 9 1 05-30-2011 01:57 PM
Elastic Audio not committing to disk properly mixboy bob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-27-2009 01:32 PM
committing elastic audio in 7.4 is it fixed yet 2fly Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 01-15-2008 06:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com