Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-15-2013, 12:00 PM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,650
Default Re: Special Dithering / Bit-Resolution Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by putney View Post
Yep, bradch00 nailed it! Pro tools 10 does allow multiple bit rates to exist in a 24 bit session. But the sample rate can't be changed. The session must be at 44.1 for the 'bonce to track' file read as 16/44.1
OK, just checked this; it does in fact work as advertised. The mix engine always dithers to 24bit regardless of the record bit depth, so one could exploit this by changing the session bit depth to 16bit, inserting whatever 16bit dither plug you'd like and printing to track, thus generating a 16bit file. Kind of convoluted, but it would work.

best,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-15-2013, 03:45 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Special Dithering / Bit-Resolution Question

I simply playback my 24/48 session into another Pro Tools system recording at 16/44.1

No dithering, no truncation, no noise shaping.....

Of course you have to have two rigs, but like using the old 2 inch
__________________
-Systems Engineer, Systems and Sound Designer, Recording and Mixing Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-17-2017, 09:25 AM
SoundVillageStudio SoundVillageStudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Rome-Italy
Posts: 13
Default Re: Special Dithering / Bit-Resolution Question

Hello to everyone! i'm using Ozone5 advanced to make some mastering for my personal productions, from 24 to 16bit, but i don't understand this:
"With Ozone (dithering inside selected) in the Master, (and NO-Plug ins inserted in the PT>Preferences>Processing>Audiosuite>use audiosuite dither: NO-Plug in
PT will still apply dithering? The doubt comes out 'cause in the BTD window the menu which show the choices of dither processing became "active" when i select the depth and the sample rate (from 24/48 to 16/44.1)
so my answer is "Maybe will dither twice my file ?"
Thanks for attention, hope for faster answer. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-19-2017, 04:48 AM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Post Re: Special Dithering / Bit-Resolution Question

From page 1118 of the v12.6.1 Reference Guide.

Note that Bounce to Disk does not apply dither when con- verting during or after a bounce to a lower resolution. If you need to bounce to a lower resolution file, use a dither plug-in on a Master Fader track assigned to the bounce source path. This dithers the bounced file, before the Bounce to Disk conversion truncates the bounced file to the selected bit depth resolution.

From page 1110 of the v12.6.1 Reference Guide.

Bouncing to disk does not apply dither when reducing bit depth. To apply dither when bouncing to disk, you should insert a dither plug-in as the last processor in the signal path on a Master Fader assigned to the bounce source audio output path.
Using a dither plug-in on a Master Fader is preferable to an Auxiliary Input because Master Fader inserts are post-fader. As a post-fader insert, the dither plug-in can process changes in Master Fader level.
If you do not use a dither plug-in on your bounce source path, and you choose to convert to a lower resolution during or after bouncing to disk, the resulting file will be converted by truncation.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-19-2017, 05:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: Special Dithering / Bit-Resolution Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundVillageStudio View Post
"Maybe will dither twice my file ?"
Welcome to the community.

PT won't dither without you knowing. That's why you need to insert dithering plugin -- either stock one or some 3rd party plugin. If you already have one, don't use the stock one to dither twice. And be sure that the plugin that dithers is the last one in the master fader.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-19-2017, 10:00 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,650
Default Re: Special Dithering / Bit-Resolution Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundVillageStudio View Post
... The doubt comes out 'cause in the BTD window the menu which show the choices of dither processing became "active" when i select the depth and the sample rate (from 24/48 to 16/44.1)
so my answer is "Maybe will dither twice my file ?"
Thanks for attention, hope for faster answer. Thanks
Where do you see a dither option in the BTD window? Perhaps you're confusing dither with bit-depth? They are two separate things.

from the PT reference guide: "Bounce to Disk does not apply dither when converting during or after a bounce to a lower resolution...."

Note dither *will* be applied on a clip *export* to a lower resolution.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-19-2017, 11:50 AM
SoundVillageStudio SoundVillageStudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Rome-Italy
Posts: 13
Default Re: Special Dithering / Bit-Resolution Question

Thanks to Chief Technician, JFreak and Rich Breen!
You definitively solve my misunderstanding...and my ignorance..
Fortunately i have always collaborate with Pro for Mastering, sending they 24/96 or 24/48 without reduction to 16!
i have think (not read in the reference guide!) that PT applies dither in BTD when you set up a bit reduction, not only in export..thanks thanks and thanks!!
Know a "bit" more (without dithering), about it, make me happy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dithering Question gonzolagonda Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 32 01-20-2007 03:39 PM
Question about dithering. Icemaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-05-2004 12:03 AM
Dithering Question thothprod Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 10-18-2004 12:51 AM
Dithering question MichaelK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-09-2002 06:11 PM
dithering question Joz Tips & Tricks 33 03-24-2002 08:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com