Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2013, 08:06 AM
chemdream chemdream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 6
Default R35 resistor fell off my card!

Hi all.

I'm wondering if anyone knows where I can buy a replacement resistor for R35 on the pro tools hd PCI-E core card? I know the specs of it. But an exact link would be great!

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2013, 09:22 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,755
Default Re: R35 resistor fell off my card!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chemdream View Post
Hi all.

I'm wondering if anyone knows where I can buy a replacement resistor for R35 on the pro tools hd PCI-E core card? I know the specs of it. But an exact link would be great!

Thanks!!
Considering it's probably a surface mount part it's not that easy to replace. Your typical soldering iron jockey won't be able to do it - I should know as I used to deal with surface mount parts a lot. Also the economics - most sites won't sell you just one resistor. Most will want to sell you a minimum of 10 or more. Also for a small order like this the shipping will cost you more than the parts will. Radio Shack does NOT stock or even carry these kinds of parts.

That being said you could try Newark at: http://www.newark.com/
or Mouser at: http://www.mouser.com/

How in the heck did you lose just one surface mount part? If it happened in flexing the board then you have other issues as there's probably several other parts that have had either their cases cracked or solder joints cracked.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2013, 12:50 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: R35 resistor fell off my card!

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Considering it's probably a surface mount part it's not that easy to replace. Your typical soldering iron jockey won't be able to do it - I should know as I used to deal with surface mount parts a lot. Also the economics - most sites won't sell you just one resistor. Most will want to sell you a minimum of 10 or more. Also for a small order like this the shipping will cost you more than the parts will. Radio Shack does NOT stock or even carry these kinds of parts.

That being said you could try Newark at: http://www.newark.com/
or Mouser at: http://www.mouser.com/

How in the heck did you lose just one surface mount part? If it happened in flexing the board then you have other issues as there's probably several other parts that have had either their cases cracked or solder joints cracked.
There one particular resister that's prone to being knocked off by the MacPros Card support. Not sure if its R35 but its a documented issue. Normally it requires the card to be sent to Avid for repair.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2013, 01:25 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,755
Default Re: R35 resistor fell off my card!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
There one particular resister that's prone to being knocked off by the MacPros Card support. Not sure if its R35 but its a documented issue. Normally it requires the card to be sent to Avid for repair.
Kind of what I was getting at - if it's indeed a surface mount part that's not an easy replacement. SM parts don't take kindly to the high heat from a typical hand held soldering station. Also like I said if one SM part has come off you may be more likely to have others that are going to fail and the only way you're even going to begin to see this is under a microscope and you have to know what to look for. I've worked with enough SM parts to know the pitfalls.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-26-2013, 04:39 PM
chemdream chemdream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 6
Default Re: R35 resistor fell off my card!

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Considering it's probably a surface mount part it's not that easy to replace. Your typical soldering iron jockey won't be able to do it - I should know as I used to deal with surface mount parts a lot. Also the economics - most sites won't sell you just one resistor. Most will want to sell you a minimum of 10 or more. Also for a small order like this the shipping will cost you more than the parts will. Radio Shack does NOT stock or even carry these kinds of parts.

That being said you could try Newark at: http://www.newark.com/
or Mouser at: http://www.mouser.com/

How in the heck did you lose just one surface mount part? If it happened in flexing the board then you have other issues as there's probably several other parts that have had either their cases cracked or solder joints cracked.
It is very common for R35 (and the surrounding r's and c's) to fall off.

I can replace it if I can sort out exactly what it is. I have the R specs. but that doesn't seem to help. I'm aware of digikey and mouser. They do not have the part.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2013, 05:00 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,755
Default Re: R35 resistor fell off my card!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chemdream View Post
It is very common for R35 (and the surrounding r's and c's) to fall off.

I can replace it if I can sort out exactly what it is. I have the R specs. but that doesn't seem to help. I'm aware of digikey and mouser. They do not have the part.
Do you regularly work with surface mount parts? Like I said your average solder iron jockey will only botch the job and more likely than not ruin traces on the pc board. You need a temperature controlled soldering station with a very small tip. Most SMD parts don't take kindly to high temps during soldering. Generally around 450 deg F or so which is way less than the solder and temps used to put together xlr's. Excess heat will not only damage the part but also lift traces on the board. I know because I used to do this kind of work for a living.

You may have the resistance value but you can't even get the part - did you try Newark? Here's their page on resistors: http://www.newark.com/resistors-fixed-value
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-27-2013, 06:07 AM
chemdream chemdream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 6
Default Re: R35 resistor fell off my card!

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Do you regularly work with surface mount parts? Like I said your average solder iron jockey will only botch the job and more likely than not ruin traces on the pc board. You need a temperature controlled soldering station with a very small tip. Most SMD parts don't take kindly to high temps during soldering. Generally around 450 deg F or so which is way less than the solder and temps used to put together xlr's. Excess heat will not only damage the part but also lift traces on the board. I know because I used to do this kind of work for a living.

You may have the resistance value but you can't even get the part - did you try Newark? Here's their page on resistors: http://www.newark.com/resistors-fixed-value

Not but I have friends that do.

I'll check out Newark.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mastering with one fell swoop mij sang Tips & Tricks 26 08-07-2013 08:35 AM
Mbox 2 fell PhilLewis01 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-03-2009 08:53 AM
My manual fell apart. jaydottcomm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-23-2007 10:59 PM
Using an LA-3a & 192 I/O, need resistor to match? ragbor Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 09-07-2004 10:22 AM
001 fell over lozza 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-13-2000 10:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com