Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2020, 04:52 PM
Thenewexhibit Thenewexhibit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 363
Default MIDI editing question.

Hello! I had a question about MIDI editing. I am basically un-quantizing the midi notes to have a little more of a human feel, and as a result, there are gaps in the midi. I know I can go to note duration to fill these gaps, and this works really great if all the notes are the same note, but the problem is that the last notes of the midi before a new note change get extended past the range and overlaps into the start of the note change.

What I'm basically asking is is there a command that fills the gaps in midi until the start of the next note regardless of pitch?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2020, 06:03 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,686
Default Re: MIDI editing question.

It might be more efficient in that case to trim the notes rather than moving them.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2020.5 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Mojave
PT 2020.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2020, 09:36 AM
RTGraham RTGraham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 29
Default Re: MIDI editing question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thenewexhibit View Post
Hello! I had a question about MIDI editing. I am basically un-quantizing the midi notes to have a little more of a human feel, and as a result, there are gaps in the midi. I know I can go to note duration to fill these gaps, and this works really great if all the notes are the same note, but the problem is that the last notes of the midi before a new note change get extended past the range and overlaps into the start of the note change.

What I'm basically asking is is there a command that fills the gaps in midi until the start of the next note regardless of pitch?
If I'm correctly understanding your question, then you can do the following:
In the track's real-time MIDI properties (which you can get to by control-clicking the track and selecting it from the context menu, or by exposing it in the track header - but the track header version doesn't always offer as many of the parameters), enable the "Duration" option, and set its mode to "legato/gap." You can then specify how much time (in beats / ticks) should be in between the end of one note and the beginning of the next.
See if that does what you're trying to do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Editing Question. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 04-07-2010 08:03 PM
MIDI editing question ivet MIDI 1 09-03-2008 09:55 PM
Probably a stupid MIDI editing question... nickdahl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-27-2008 10:54 PM
MIDI Editing Question - Converting BPM shendrie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-16-2003 10:04 PM
MIDI Editing Question markmcc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-27-2001 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com