Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2011, 05:16 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,053
Default Vacuum patch gets shorter decay time at 96kHz session than 192kHz session

I just made a Vacuum patch yesterday and noticed something strange happening with the decay going from 192kHz to 96kHz.

The decay time in the patch I made is considerably shorter for a 96kHz session compared to a 192kHz session.

I will post the name of the factory patch I tweaked with it's settings when I get home after work.
Hopefully this can be replicated by others.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2011, 07:53 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,053
Default Re: Vacuum patch gets shorter decay time at 96kHz session than 192kHz session

Here are that the patches I have problems with.
Try opening in both a 192k session and then in a 96k session.

http://dillner.net/vacuum/
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2011, 03:35 PM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,053
Default Re: Vacuum patch gets shorter decay time at 96kHz session than 192kHz session

Anyone had the chance to try this ?
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2011, 01:07 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Vacuum patch gets shorter decay time at 96kHz session than 192kHz session

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
Anyone had the chance to try this ?
Pretty sure I can do some testing for you tomorrow, but I'm still on 7.4.2.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2011, 05:49 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Vacuum patch gets shorter decay time at 96kHz session than 192kHz session

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
Pretty sure I can do some testing for you tomorrow, but I'm still on 7.4.2.
Drop the .dpm files into the Plug-Ins folder Stig. Creative Collection should work in Pro Tools 7.4.x. I'd run the test but my I/O won't go up to 192kHz.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2011, 01:10 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Vacuum patch gets shorter decay time at 96kHz session than 192kHz session

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
Drop the .dpm files into the Plug-Ins folder Stig. Creative Collection should work in Pro Tools 7.4.x. I'd run the test but my I/O won't go up to 192kHz.
I know, Aaron. I'm using all the AIR plugins that came with PT 8 on my rig. I just thought that since OP is on 9.x.x it might be a useless test. Thanks.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2011, 01:11 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,053
Default Re: Vacuum patch gets shorter decay time at 96kHz session than 192kHz session

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
Pretty sure I can do some testing for you tomorrow, but I'm still on 7.4.2.
Thanks/takk Stig.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2011, 01:46 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Vacuum patch gets shorter decay time at 96kHz session than 192kHz session

Give it a shot anyway Stig as it might have gone under the radar.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-2011, 03:41 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Vacuum patch gets shorter decay time at 96kHz session than 192kHz session

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
Give it a shot anyway Stig as it might have gone under the radar.
Your wish is my command.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-02-2011, 10:01 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Vacuum patch gets shorter decay time at 96kHz session than 192kHz session

Can't test this for you. I forgot that the enclosure connector (AES/EBU) on my interface only support up to 96 kHz, and it's a major hassle for me to get behind the racks to re-wire the I/O's.

Sorry.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9 crashes every time I open a new session or import session data Ryan Butler macOS 14 03-23-2014 07:53 AM
Is my session 96khz ? VictorC Windows 3 01-30-2014 11:23 AM
192khz session not even an option. Jakay macOS 18 09-18-2013 08:09 PM
Convert 192kHz session to 96 rososound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-17-2007 12:55 AM
CoreAudio7.3 works above 96kHz? PT7.3 192kHz woes Mauro371 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-15-2006 08:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com