Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2011, 04:58 AM
abujji003 abujji003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Question Pro Tools LE 7.0 - MIDI - Audio Playback

Hi,

I have recently bought a MBox2 / ProTools LE 7.0 through eBay and I am quite new to this. I was able to successfully connect my MIDI keyboard (KORG Triton Extreme) and record on ProTools via MBox2. However, when I play back, I dont get any audio out from my Monitor Speaker. What could I be possibly doing incorrectly? I would like to hear the sound either through my keyboard or through the monitor speaker. I understand that MIDI doesnt carry audio data but I am assuming that the MBox2 / ProTools combination would do the magic.

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2011, 05:51 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 7.0 - MIDI - Audio Playback

"The M Box 2 allows you to record analogue and digital inputs at the same time." Taken from this article;
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/nov0...cles/mbox2.htm

I would suggest connecting the Triton to the Mbox using S/PDIF connections. You'll need two s/dif cables;
Triton s/dif in>Mbox s/pdif out
Mbox s/pdif in > Triton s/pdif out

In Pro Tools go to setup>Hardware>Clock Source...with Mbox selected in window choose 'Internal' and with Triton selected in window choose 'External'. (If the Triton is not showing up you may have to refer to Triton manual to set it's clock source to external).
Note: One interface must be chosen as the MASTER (which is what you are doing by choosing 'Internal' as clock source and the other as SLAVE..doing so by choosing 'external clock source). If you have two Masters or two slaves this setup will not function correctly.

Doing it this way leaves your Mbox analogue I/O's free for other use such as vocals or guitar etc.

Triton Extreme S/PDIF outputs send a digital version of the same audio signal as the AUDIO OUTPUT (MAIN) L/MONO and R jacks, at sampling rates of 48 kHz. (information acquired from Triton Extreme user manual).
Note: So when creating a Pro Tools session use the 48k sample rate.

In Pro Tools go to setup>I/O>Input Tab. Look to see which channel s/pdif is on and double click to rename channel. Rename it Triton (or whatever else you want).
Do same on Output Tab>click OK.
Doing this will make it easier to select I/O options when creating new tracks.

If you want to use the Triton as a Midi Controller as well, connect;
Triton Midi out>Mbox Midi in
Mbox Midi out>Triton Midi in

You will need to set the Triton as a controller in Pro Tools Setup>peripherals>Midi Controllers

Doing this you will be able to use the Triton to control 'Virtual Instruments' that can be used as plugins on a channel.

Now that these connections have been made, you have two scenarios in which you can record.
1. Use the onboard Triton library of sounds
2. Use Pro Tools+ third party plugin virtual instruments (VI's)

In Mix view in Pro Tools;

In scenario 1. Create an audio track and select channel input>interface to Triton (or whatever you named it in the I/O setup above) record enable and away you go!

In scenario 2. Create an Instrument track, instantiate a VI plugin within 'Inserts' on channel strip and select channel input>interface to Triton (or whatever you named it in the I/O setup above) record enable and away you go!

Doing this will enable you to blend sounds together between Triton & VI's.
If you want to have Triton control sounds seperately, when selecting input/output on each channel, the option to select different midi channels is presented.

It would be a good idea to refer to both the Pro Tools user guide and the Triton Manual to familiarize yourself with how to use this setup correctly.

Good luck and I hope this is of some help.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2011, 05:17 AM
abujji003 abujji003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 7.0 - MIDI - Audio Playback

Thank you so much for the detailed instructions. I'll try it this evening and let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-2011, 05:55 AM
abujji003 abujji003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 7.0 - MIDI - Audio Playback

Your suggestion worked like a charm - thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
midi playback=audio, midi edit=no audio Rubianes2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-18-2010 02:29 PM
Newby MIDI playback problem - no audio during playback ericbpawsinc MIDI 2 03-12-2008 09:05 PM
Help! midi notes on audio playback cancel out..... jslstrat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-24-2005 01:36 PM
midi playback and overdub audio porkipine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-24-2005 07:15 PM
Can't get audio and midi to playback jimmy245 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-07-2003 08:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com