Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:17 PM
andyaynow andyaynow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Laptop issues with Dual Core Processor, please help!!!

Hi I am fairly new to all of this, I got pro-tools 6.4 with the 6.7 upgrade a year ago using the Orginal M-Box hardware. I just recently purchased a Dell Inspiron 1501 with AMD 64 dual core processors. Its running on xp as well. So not thinking I just installed 6.7 on it and got the major blue screen with the BIOS erros and how to change some things, I read on the post about all the issues and how you would need to shut one core down, and still there were issues, but that Pro-tools 7.3 was designed to run on Intel-core duo processors for windows xp laptops. But i wasn't sure about AMD processors, my two questions and I am sure they are very ignorant are

1) If i do the $75 download of 7.3 will it run with my M-Box hardware I already have

2) Will 7.3 run fine on my laptop or will there still be conflict?

Thank you for time and any help you can give!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:19 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Laptop issues with Dual Core Processor, please help!!!

1. Yes

2. you haven't posted enough information about your laptop to answer this question.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:21 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Laptop issues with Dual Core Processor, please help!!!

If I remember correctly, the 1501 comes with either AMD Sempron or AMD Turion processors. Neither is compatible with Pro Tools.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:22 PM
andyaynow andyaynow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Laptop issues with Dual Core Processor, please help!!!

thank you for your help, what info do you need about my laptop, I will get it to you I appreciate this so much
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:23 PM
andyaynow andyaynow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Laptop issues with Dual Core Processor, please help!!!

its Athlon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:25 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Laptop issues with Dual Core Processor, please help!!!

  • download and install SiSoft Sandra
  • Run sandra, go to the "Hardware" tab, and run the "Computer Overview"
  • copy and paste the results here
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:34 PM
andyaynow andyaynow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Laptop issues with Dual Core Processor, please help!!!

I know I am a complete idiot I feel really stupid and I appreciate your help here! everything on the site is in french
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:39 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Laptop issues with Dual Core Processor, please help!!!

On the far right hand side of that website is a column with the header "Langues" (that's languages in french). If you click on "English" below that header... well... everything will be in english.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:42 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Laptop issues with Dual Core Processor, please help!!!

Here's a direct link to the download hosted on the C|net site: Sandra Download

(4th link from the top of the page I already linked you to, and yes, it's in english )
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:44 PM
andyaynow andyaynow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Laptop issues with Dual Core Processor, please help!!!

SiSoftware Sandra

System
Host Name : D71Y4BD1
User : Brantley
Workgroup : MSHOME

Processor
Model : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-53
Speed : 1.70GHz
Model Number : 2992 (estimated)
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Low Power, Dual-Core
Internal Data Cache : 64kB Synchronous, Write-Back, 2-way set, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 256kB ECC Synchronous, Write-Back, 16-way set, 64 byte line size

Mainboard
Platform Compliance : AMD LIVE!
Bus(es) : ISA PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
MP Support : 1 Processor(s)
MP APIC : Yes
System BIOS : AT/AT COMPATIBLE
System : Dell Inc. Inspiron 1501
Mainboard : Dell Inc. 0UW744
Total Memory : 894MB DDR2-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : Dell Computer Corp RS480 Host Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 800MHz (1600MHz data rate)
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 14MHz (28MHz data rate)

Chipset 2
Model : Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Athlon 64 / Opteron HyperTransport Technology Configuration
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 800MHz (1600MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 1GB DDR2-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 242MHz (484MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Default Monitor
Monitor/Panel : Default Monitor
Monitor/Panel : Default Monitor
Adapter : ATI Radeon Xpress 1150

Physical Storage Devices
Hard Disk : WDC WD1200BEVS-75RST0 (112GB)
CD-ROM/DVD : TEAC CDRWDVD DW224EV (CD 24X Rd, 24X Wr) (DVD 3X Rd)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 109GB (101GB, 93% Free Space) (NTFS)
CD-ROM/DVD (D:) : N/A

Peripherals
Serial/Parallel Port(s) : 1 COM / 0 LPT
USB Controller/Hub : Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
Keyboard : Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse : Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad

Communication Device(s)
Device : Conexant HDA D110 MDC V.92 Modem

Printers and Faxes
Model : Microsoft Office Document Image Writer
Model : Fax

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : Off-Line
Battery No 1 : 64%

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Home 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)
Platform Compliance : Win32 x86

Network Services
Adapter : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
Adapter : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card

Performance Tips
Notice 5901 : CD 1x= 150kB/s; Exercise caution when comparing measured versus published ratings.
Notice 5902 : DVD 1x= 11.08Mbps Exercise caution when comparing measured versus published ratings.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core i7 2.0GHz Quad-Core Processor or Intel Core i7 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor? okodub Pro Tools 9 3 09-23-2011 07:33 AM
AMD Dual-Core Processor ? Munir 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 03-20-2008 08:43 PM
XP: Core 2., Dual Core, 2 Processor Board, what is up? Jim Casey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 06-11-2007 06:29 AM
Windows Laptop Compatibility - duo core processor smackeroo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-07-2007 06:03 AM
Dual Core V Dual Processor Support Red Box 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-18-2005 05:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com