Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2006, 10:22 AM
metaldjian metaldjian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default Notebook/Laptop Multi-Core Processor Issue w/ PTLE

I am having an issue with PTLE 7.x and a PC dual-core notebook running Windows XP SP2. The notebook is an Intel Core Duo Acer notebook/laptop.

PTLE 7.0 installation and configuration went off without a hitch. The problem arose when I started to record with an MBOX 2. i can record for about 4 seconds, then i get this error:

The operating system held of interruptions for too long. If this occurs often, try increasing the “H/W Buffer Size” in the
Playback Engine Dialog.
(-9093)

So after talking with Digidesign tech support, I nailed the problem down to an incompatibility issue with the Intel Core Duo and the timing/clock issues of PTLE. As is was explained to me, the solution is to disable multicore support in the BIOS, so the computer runs off of only one core. An easy enough fix...

However, my BIOS does not give me the option to disable multicore/dualcore support, so I am unable to force my machine to run on only one core, rendering my DAW essentially useless. I have tried, and searched, for numerous fixes or workarounds for this issue including modifying registry keys, changing boot.ini settings, and anything else I can think of, all to no avail.

Has anyone else ran into this specific problem? Is there a way to disable multicore support within Windows if you can't do it through the BIOS? Why is there even an incompatibility issue with PTLE and some Duo Core systems? I have considered flashing the BIOS, and reloading a "generic" BIOS that may give me the option to control multicore support. Any insight on similar problems or a possible fix/workaround would be greatly appreciated. It's been an entire month of searching for a solution to this problem!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2006, 02:49 PM
brandymania1 brandymania1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 238
Default Re: Notebook/Laptop Multi-Core Processor Issue w/ PTLE

Im sorry but there is none.

Read my post "Its a shame"


brandy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2006, 07:51 AM
metaldjian metaldjian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Notebook/Laptop Multi-Core Processor Issue w/ PTLE

I'd like to view your post, but it seems to have been removed? Maybe I'm simple and can't find it, but I remember seeing it yesterday, and I can't seem to find it today. What's that all about? Do you have a copy of the text of the thread, or a general overview of what was discussed? I'm pulling my hair our here... Thanks for the reply.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2006, 08:53 AM
mishar mishar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 157
Default Re: Notebook/Laptop Multi-Core Processor Issue w/ PTLE

Give this a try ... I can't promise it's going to make it work, but you might find something helpfull...

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...rt=&PHPSESSID=
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2006, 01:40 PM
dmsean dmsean is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Notebook/Laptop Multi-Core Processor Issue w/

Try Mishar's post. Seems pretty solid and easy to follow.

My errors seem to have gone away, but I'm certain once I start overloading the system I will get the H/W error.

Do you have an external HD? I'm thinking of buying one if I really need it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2006, 07:30 AM
metaldjian metaldjian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Notebook/Laptop Multi-Core Processor Issue w/ PTLE

Thanks for the link, I'll try what you suggested and see what happens. I have tried to record to an external HD, and I kept running into the same problem.
If I can't get this issue figured out, I think I may opt for a new MacBook, and run both Win XP and OS X. I believe Apple announces their 2007 lineup on January 8th.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2007, 12:50 PM
MarcJF MarcJF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Notebook/Laptop Multi-Core Processor Issue w/ PTLE

I am having the exact same problems... MBOX2 + PTLE 7.0 + PC Dual Core notebook + Windows XP SP2 + FW 800 external pro audio drive. My notebook is an hp dv6000t Duo Core 2 series notebook which uses the Intel T5500 processor & i945 chipset. I did all the suggested optimizing & still have -9093 buffer error on playback.

From what i've gathered, disabling the hyperthreading in BIOS is a common practice to get this type of problem solved, but unfortunately my hp pavillion does not have that option. I also tried asigning the "affinity" settings... no go. The HOTFIX download didn't help either.

I am a newbie to Pro Tools & thought I would be O.K. with this system. Obviously, it was a bad decision to try the hp notebook...

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2007, 01:15 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Notebook/Laptop Multi-Core Processor Issue w/

I think I need to point your attention to the compatibility pages:
Quote:
*Please Note: Models that offer Intel Core 2 Duo laptop processors (codename Merom) are currently not officially supported or qualified with Digidesign products. Currently only the Intel Core 2 Duo desktop processors (codename Conroe) have been qualified.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2007, 02:09 PM
MarcJF MarcJF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Notebook/Laptop Multi-Core Processor Issue w/

Thanks for the reply... Unfortunately, I overlooked that specification. I just thought I would check on the boards for suggestions...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-14-2007, 09:25 AM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 813
Default Re: Notebook/Laptop Multi-Core Processor Issue w/

Yet, my HP Pavillion dv8000 Core Duo 2 (T2400 processor) works like a charm. I suppose I
should consider myself lucky.

That aside, I must add my voice to the howls of discontent regarding this
support policy by Digi. They support the MacBook and MacBook Pro which use
the Duo Core2 .. but not on Windows?

jeff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi core on notebook processor and PT LE 7.4 YanSabeth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-23-2011 06:51 PM
Pro ToolsToshiba 16" Satellite A505-S6005 Intel Core i3 Laptop 4GB Notebook 50 9 for ShaunBillz09 Pro Tools 9 1 02-02-2011 07:04 PM
Has the multi-core processor problem been fixed in PT8? adz999 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 07-07-2009 10:47 AM
PTLE 7 & multi-processor support jlcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-09-2005 03:07 PM
Multi Core / Processor support coming to PT? kv331 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-14-2005 12:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com