Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-10-2020, 09:59 AM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 227
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Hi Eddie, Yes, I connect both the S1 and the Dock to the router. It has 3 ports. Wish I could figrue it out.

When I had the Ariist Control, I would restart the router and the Artist, and there would be no latency for a short time, only to revert back to the same way. If I do that process now it continues to be latent.

These are the only things running on the network, so i wouldn't figure it would be like this.
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-10-2020, 10:06 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,768
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Do you have Wi-Fi enable on the Mac? If so, try disabling it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-10-2020, 03:31 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 227
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Do you have Wi-Fi enable on the Mac? If so, try disabling it.
Eddie, My "Wi-fi" on the Mac is part of what enables the router. If I disable the Wi-fi, I disable the router.

I have no other network devices enabled.
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-10-2020, 04:00 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,768
Default Re: S1 recommended router

But you said you were connected by Ethernet to the router? It sounds like you need a better router though. Have a look at something like this with MU-MIMO features TP-Link Archer AC1200 and TP-Link Archer AC1900
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-10-2020, 04:43 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 227
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Yes, I am connected to Ethernet by the the router, but the Network name is the same as my router's name. It might've been set up wrong by me. You are probably right on getting a new router.
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-10-2020, 04:49 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,768
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Have you tried to turn off the WiFi on the Mac...it should be OK
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-10-2020, 04:50 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 227
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Can you steer me toward a good router name that would work with the Dock? I don't really know much about them.
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-10-2020, 04:56 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,768
Default Re: S1 recommended router

See the ones I suggested above
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-10-2020, 05:22 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 227
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Would this one be effective Eddie?

TP-Link AC2600 Smart WiFi Router - MU-MIMO
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-10-2020, 05:31 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,768
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Yes that should be great.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Router, Hub, Switch? pasanta Artist Series 1 08-02-2019 12:22 PM
What router are you guys using? JCBigler Artist Series 6 12-16-2018 04:48 PM
Which router? Shatzer Artist Series 3 08-09-2015 11:26 AM
Mix on Mac: Only Router as Workstation ??? peterle Artist Series 1 12-16-2012 09:11 AM
looking for a router baadc0de Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 05-10-2006 11:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com