Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2010, 11:03 AM
ZDF ZDF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ILLINOIS, USA
Posts: 8
Default MBOX2Pro won't power on anymore!!

Hey all, thanks for your help! Yesterday my mbox2pro worked like a charm, today no power, i've tried everything. This is my chain:
Mbookpro-500G Seagatefirewire800HD-firewire800/400adapter-Mbox2pro

I'm going to try to reinstall PT but avoid the 8.0.4 update in case that might be the issue...

Z
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2010, 01:07 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: MBOX2Pro won't power on anymore!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZDF View Post
Hey all, thanks for your help! Yesterday my mbox2pro worked like a charm, today no power, i've tried everything. This is my chain:
Mbookpro-500G Seagatefirewire800HD-firewire800/400adapter-Mbox2pro

I'm going to try to reinstall PT but avoid the 8.0.4 update in case that might be the issue...

Z
No need to create multiple posts... just bump the same one.

We're gonna need more info.

Are you using the power adapter for the MBox? Which Macbook Pro model? Pro Tools version? OSX version?

Next...

Particularly for the MBox2Pro... there have many been reported issues with your setup. Running 800->800 then 800->400 can result in issues, because the hard drive in the chain may not be dropping the bus speed properly. This can be the result of firmware issues, among other things.

Ideally, you want a FW400 drive.

Macbook -> 800->400 cable -> Drive -> MBox

Keeps the chain consistent, and less room for error. If your Macbook has an ExpressCard slot, you'd be better off getting a FW card, and keep the drive and MBox on completely separate busses.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2010, 02:11 PM
ZDF ZDF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ILLINOIS, USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: MBOX2Pro won't power on anymore!!

Thanks so much for your help! I thought my rig info would show up. Anyway, here's what I'm using:

MacBookPro i7 2.66ghz with 4G ram OS X10.6.4 using PT LE 8.0.4

I AM using a daisy chain from the Macbook to the FW800 HD then to the Mbox2pro using a 800/400 adapter. If there is a history of problems with this setup, I might need to change it up. I am NOT using a power adapter as I thought it would be easier(one less thing to plug in) to power the Mbox with the FW.

Is this the probable cause for my issue?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2010, 02:38 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 977
Default Re: MBOX2Pro won't power on anymore!!

First question. If you connect the MBox2PRO directly to the computer with the FW800-FW400 adapter, does it power up?
Second question. Do you have another cable/adapter to try?
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2020.5, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2020.5, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.15.6, PT2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2010, 03:05 PM
ZDF ZDF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ILLINOIS, USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: MBOX2Pro won't power on anymore!!

Yep, I've tried a different cable, different adapter, straight into the macbook, daisy chained, etc. I've tried reinstalling PT and only installing PT 8.0.3, and still no love from the mbox. I'm on the road so I won't be able to try the actual wall wart until I get home.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox Pro 3 appears to have died. Won't power on anymore. Damallooo FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 3 04-06-2013 11:38 AM
PT 9 on 64 bit W7 mbox2pro whitewaller Windows 2 05-02-2011 12:39 PM
Mbox2Pro - No Power via FireWire izzumm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-28-2008 01:00 PM
audible headphone pops at Mbox2Pro power up? DaveBCC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-09-2007 10:25 PM
Mbox2Pro gh4life 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-18-2006 09:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com