Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2011, 08:34 AM
Nyx Nyx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lawrenceburg
Posts: 4
Default MIDI making me tear out my hair.

Ok,

I have kind of an old setup that I bought all together a few years back. Its Pro Tools LE 7.3 with the update, an Mbox Mini and an Axiom 61 key controller. Although I have successfully recorded midi as instrument tracks before in other projects every time I use the great ambient piano sound in Xpand it is MAJORLY off time. I have Sampletank 2 and Reason 5.0 and both seem to record ok, but Xpand just gives me fits. The notes are all chopped up and off time on playback. I am not a bad piano player, and I can hear very clearly what it is that I have done when playing it but upon playback I want to kick my computer out the window. Since I am pretty much on my own as a musician and rely on midi to fill in a lot of gaps it has been quite a source of frustration for me. Another thing is despite the fact that I have recorded many things, I kind of fumbled on learning the program fully and mostly felt my way through the basic functions. The tutorial they had with the program was pretty outdated and most people out there are using a newer or different version on YouTube, so it doesn't really help me. I literally know very little about how the program works so if its a setting that I got wrong then I would not really know what to do unless given instructions on how to find it, I am pretty computer savvy in general but not with Pro Tools. I was thinking the problem could be with Xpand itself, so I am going to update it when I get a chance. Any further advice or assistance would be met with a great deal of appreciation.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2011, 08:37 AM
Nyx Nyx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lawrenceburg
Posts: 4
Default Re: MIDI making me tear out my hair.

Oh, I am not running on the most powerful PC, dual core with XP. Its not a Mac I know, but its what I have.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-2011, 09:23 AM
Nyx Nyx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lawrenceburg
Posts: 4
Default Re: MIDI making me tear out my hair.

I thought I would also give an example.


Lets say that I have three tracks, two audio for guitar and bass and one instrumental track for midi. I direct line in for both the audio tracks, I have never had a problem with those tracks sounding bad. Vocals are always good too. However I pull up the instrumental track and load Xpand as a plugin, levels are good and nothing seems to be out of order. I can hear the piano through the monitor as I do a couple of rehearsal playthroughs on the keyboard it sounds great. Ok, I begin to record and it goes really well, everything seems to register just fine in both views. Now its time for me to play it back and hear my work that sounded so great earlier and for a minute it sounds as if there is no MIDI in the intro and then I hear a series of clutched together off time notes and then it renders the rest of the song into a monstrous piece of crap by botching every note the rest of the way. The notes cease to be individual and are kind of combined and then the few isolated notes are off time by whole measures. Voila! My song is crap now and I give up for the night in frustration and I give up because I cannot get what I want out of this software that I paid good money for. I'm quite literally begging for assistance, I cannot afford to go out and buy a newer version.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-2011, 01:30 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,762
Default Re: MIDI making me tear out my hair.

I would start with doing all the optimizations and troubleshooting in the General Troubleshooting thread, then post a Sandra report if you're unable to solve the problem.

See the Help Us Help You thread for additional details about what we need to know to assist you further.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tear apart my mix? slater05 General Discussion 5 01-12-2011 02:12 PM
READY TO PULL MY HAIR OUT!! *MIDI Question* carrow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-03-2005 03:06 AM
pulling out my hair - MIDI record setup problem! tyy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-08-2004 06:20 PM
Hair tear Faux Pas Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 07-08-2003 04:06 PM
Wear and tear. Is my 001 is getting old? keny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 08-19-2002 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com