Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2011, 03:45 PM
EDM_CT EDM_CT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Haven
Posts: 3
Default NTSF file error when starting up pro tools m powered?

I installed the software and I plug in my iLok and try to open the software but it gives me a warning saying something like "loss of plug in authorization key may occur...and it says drivers formatted with NTFS file name is too long more then 11 characters it says to rename NTFS volumes o a name with less then 11 characters" how do I fix this
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2011, 10:15 AM
EDM_CT EDM_CT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Haven
Posts: 3
Default Re: NTSF file error when starting up pro tools m powered?

im running on windows 7 and im using a m audio profire 610 interface....can anyone help
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2011, 12:48 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: NTSF file error when starting up pro tools m powered?

Do you have any drives with names longer than 11 characters?
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2011, 06:49 AM
EDM_CT EDM_CT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Haven
Posts: 3
Default Re: NTSF file error when starting up pro tools m powered?

how do I look up the drivers what folder and would renaming them damage anything
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2011, 02:25 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: NTSF file error when starting up pro tools m powered?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDM_CT View Post
how do I look up the drivers what folder and would renaming them damage anything
Not drivers, drives.

Like your C: drive, or D: drive. If they have a long name, PT doesn't like it.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2014, 02:46 AM
tchalker tchalker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default Re: NTSF file error when starting up pro tools m powered?

I had the same problem and renamed an "E" drive to a shorter version than "System Reserved E:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2014, 07:18 AM
kflanagan kflanagan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: hundon
Posts: 7
Default Re: NTSF file error when starting up pro tools m powered?

Hi - there doesn't seem to be a reply about the problem with renaming drives (how? will it lose data?) to be able to activate my new protools express/mbox setup?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-17-2014, 06:05 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: NTSF file error when starting up pro tools m powered?

No, you wont lose any information: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-ca/w...rename-a-drive

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error: 3 when starting Pro Tools 10 waynekhin Pro Tools 10 0 11-25-2013 08:56 PM
Error While Starting Pro Tools Eduv019 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-23-2008 08:42 PM
ERROR AT STARTING IN PRO TOOLS M-POWERED 7.3 babymanuel Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 12-20-2006 07:07 AM
Error when starting Pro Tools FSM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-31-2004 11:25 PM
Error while starting up pro tools..help! dwdrummer1234 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-01-2004 10:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com