Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2011, 02:39 PM
jazztronauts jazztronauts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 17
Default M-Powered 9 upgrade

since I noticed in the Pro Tools 9 FAQ [379099]
(http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=379099)
Pro Tools M-Powered will still be continued I was wondering If I buy
M-Powered 8 today, will a get a free update to version 9 when it will be released.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2011, 03:38 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: M-Powered 9 upgrade

There is no way of knowing whether or not there will be a "version 9" of M-Powered or whether it will resemble Pro Tools 9 in terms of features.

From what I've heard, the next version of M-Powered will definitely not be as powerful as what 9 currently is, but will be less expensive. Personally, I would take the $350 crossgrade now while it's still available.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2011, 05:08 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: M-Powered 9 upgrade

Interesting. From what I heard, there will be no M-Powered 9. PT9 now will work with Avid, Digidesign and M-Audio hardware, so I don't know why they would bother updating M-Powered. More likely that the SE version will continue to be the entry level product.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2011, 02:53 PM
FifthDoctor FifthDoctor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 10
Default Re: M-Powered 9 upgrade

M powered 9 is already out, I'm confused.... just talked to Sweetwater about it today. Its ready to ship
__________________
Tyler

Fifth Doctor
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2011, 02:31 PM
u84six u84six is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: US
Posts: 9
Default Re: M-Powered 9 upgrade

I'm confused. I'm also looking to upgrade to 9 from m-powered 8. What is the upgrade path??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2011, 02:37 PM
u84six u84six is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: US
Posts: 9
Default Re: M-Powered 9 upgrade

Oops, sorry. Should clinked on the link and read it before making my last post. :)

"Q: I'm a Pro Tools M-Powered owner—can I crossgrade to Pro Tools 9 software?
A: Yes. Registered owners of Pro Tools M-Powered software can "crossgrade" to Pro Tools 9 software for $349 (vs. paying $599 regular price for new Pro Tools 9 software)."

The question is, will this crossgrade work with my current m-audio hardware? I have the 610.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2011, 02:48 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: M-Powered 9 upgrade

Yes it will.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2011, 02:55 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: M-Powered 9 upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by FifthDoctor View Post
M powered 9 is already out, I'm confused.... just talked to Sweetwater about it today. Its ready to ship
There is absolutly no m powered ver 9. Just 9. Sweetwater is talking about the m powered crossgrade which is shipping. Its the exact same as the full version other than the price
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2011, 02:53 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: M-Powered 9 upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Interesting. From what I heard, there will be no M-Powered 9. PT9 now will work with Avid, Digidesign and M-Audio hardware, so I don't know why they would bother updating M-Powered. More likely that the SE version will continue to be the entry level product.
I know, it doesn't make a lot of sense... but if you read the PT9 FAQ, there is a specific entry regarding a next version of M-Powered, but not LE.

I also had it confirmed by an Avid rep when I was at a Pro Tools seminar a couple months ago. He said he didn't know much about it, other than it's most likely going to be a less expensive version specifically for M-Audio hardware.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Powered 8 Essential -> M-Powered 8 Upgrade Snowblind Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 08-09-2011 07:05 AM
Help with M-Powered upgrade TG1989 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-03-2011 09:02 AM
m-powered 7.4 to m-powered 9 upgrade woodpigeonblue Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 04-20-2011 07:58 AM
upgrade from m powered 7.0 to 8.0 mboudrias Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 01-22-2009 11:14 PM
Upgrade from LE to M-Powered nemcon Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 09-24-2006 10:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com