Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2011, 12:30 PM
Baumtracks Baumtracks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Default No sound out of my monitors or headphones

I just got my new Mbox Pro up and running on my new imac. I have the PT 9 crossgrade. The sample track plays through my computer speakers not my headphones or monitors. When I try to record a new track,I get a response from the LED on the mbox but not on the screen. Also no sound. I'm sure it's a setup issue. I just can't figure it out. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2011, 01:12 PM
Thedspeth Thedspeth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 67
Default Re: No sound out of my monitors or headphones

Well... without knowing more about your situation I can take a guess. Pro Tools 9 obviously gives you options with regards to interface... including your built in output.

In Pro Tools go to the "setup" menu at the top and choose 'Playback Engine'. At the top of that box there is an interface option... open it and choose the Mbox. Pro tools will save and restart the session with the mbox as the interface.
__________________
Pro Tools 9
Symphony I/O
Mac Pro 8 core
Gear: UA 6176, UA 2-1176, Daking IV, Presonus ADL-600, 2 GAP PRE73
Other Software: Ableton 8, Reason 4, Sibelius 6
Plugs: Mercury Bundle, Full UA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2011, 01:19 PM
Baumtracks Baumtracks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Default Re: No sound out of my monitors or headphones

Thanks for the reply. It was already set for Pro Tools Aggregate i/o. That didn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2011, 02:29 PM
asharp_gclef asharp_gclef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 11
Default Re: No sound out of my monitors or headphones

I'm having the same exact problem with my Mbox 2. Just upgraded yesterday to Pro Tools 9. It worked all of yesterday. Then today I went to work on some more editing and the sound is coming out of my Internal Speakers. My setup is for the Pro Tools Aggregate I/O as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2011, 01:20 AM
Holly73 Holly73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ulm, Germany
Posts: 522
Default Re: No sound out of my monitors or headphones

With an Mbox connected you need to set the playback engine to "Mbox", not "PT Aggregate I/O".
__________________
 MBPr 15" (Mid 2015) i7, PT12.4, Studio One 3, UA Apollo Quad Firewire
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2011, 07:13 AM
Baumtracks Baumtracks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Default Re: No sound out of my monitors or headphones

For some reason I didn't have the option to choose Mbox. It's there now. I have sound out of my headphones not my monitors. I can record too. Making progress!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2011, 02:34 PM
Monching Monching is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Default Re: No sound out of my monitors or headphones

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly73 View Post
With an Mbox connected you need to set the playback engine to "Mbox", not "PT Aggregate I/O".
I don't see MBOX as an option under the "current engine" drop down menu. Am I missing something from the installation? thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2011, 03:08 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,815
Default Re: No sound out of my monitors or headphones

Everything you're looking for is in the manual. There are very easy setup instructions and tutorials. The documentation is in the ProTools folder within apps.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2011, 03:23 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,797
Default Re: No sound out of my monitors or headphones

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monching View Post
I don't see MBOX as an option under the "current engine" drop down menu. Am I missing something from the installation? thanks in advance.
Did you download and install the Mbox drivers?
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2011, 03:57 PM
jjtarnow jjtarnow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 49
Default Re: No sound out of my monitors or headphones

You need to download the most recent drivers...I had the same problem and downloading solved it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
monitors vs. headphones teketuco General Discussion 14 08-01-2015 07:49 AM
Mbox 2 Mini Sound coming through both Monitors and headphones jt1432 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-12-2011 11:06 PM
No sound from Digirack 003 Headphones and Monitors! RELAV 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-05-2011 05:37 PM
monitors and headphones will-i-am 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-07-2004 05:24 PM
Headphones and Monitors ee99ee General Discussion 2 07-27-2003 02:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com