Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2000, 05:05 PM
Beegster Beegster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Redondo Beach, Ca, USA
Posts: 70
Default Automation ?

Example problem: Often times I will automate a vocal take in a song. The producer comes in and says he likes the mix but just wants the vocal up a little higher. Is there a way to increase the overall level of the vocal track yet retain all the relative automation moves?

2nd problem example: I automate a vocal track. Producer comes in and says he wants more reverb on the vocal. When I try to adjust aux send level, it will not let me ( it instantly returns to previous level )b/c the automation that was written for the vocal fader level has also written automation send level. Is there a way to raise send level on vocal track without rewritting all automation?

I do know that I can draw in higher automation moves, and I know that I can just rewrite automaton, but there must be a quicker way to change overal automation levels.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2000, 05:20 PM
Compression Records Compression Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 366
Default Re: Automation ?

You can use the trim tool: select the entire track and bring the graph line (volume and/or bus levels) with all the little nodes up or down. However, you must have a node before your audio and a node after it, or the trimming will create a ramp. And, of course, watch for overs. Another quick way is to increase/decrease the output of your last plug-in, provided you have enough headroom.

------------------
Marco Marinangeli
Magelic Productions, Inc.
Compression Records
http://www.compressionrecords.com
__________________
Marco Marinangeli
Magelic Productions, Inc.
Compression Records
http://www.compressionrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2000, 09:08 PM
CCash CCash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,418
Default Re: Automation ?

Alternatively, select the area you want to gain-change. Change the volume fader on the track to the new value you want. This is a Delta value. If you want the section to come down by 3dB relative to your automation, set the volume fader 3dB lower than what it currently shows.

Show the type of automation in the Edit window that you're changing (Volume in this case) for the track. Make sure Auto Read is on. Go to Edit> Trim Automation> To Current Parameter.

If the track is grouped with others, this will affect all of those tracks showing the same automation type (parameter) in the Edit window.

It's been working out pretty nice because it puts break points at either end of the selection and keeps things from ramping.


[This message has been edited by CCash (edited September 23, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Automation to Audio Track Automation BBKBB Pro Tools 10 6 11-28-2012 01:56 PM
Protools Automation to AAF Media Composer Automation TommyT Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-10-2011 01:40 AM
Convert MIDI automation to audio automation jnash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-21-2010 03:28 PM
automation issues (re-writing automation when it shouldn't) revere 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-13-2008 02:41 PM
Automation Quirk...I didn't Write any Automation!! a2zproductions 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-20-2005 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com