Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2016, 04:39 PM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Boucing Tracks Question

Hello Folks

I wanted to ask you how can i Bounce my tracks (instrument tracks and audio tracks) with a -6db peak limit to send them to the mixing engineer???

Should i normalize them? Will i loose quality when normalizing???

Please help

Thanks
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2016, 12:09 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,479
Default Re: Boucing Tracks Question

Hi,

Don't normalise them!

As long as they don't peak above -0dbfs then all should be fine. Ideally a lower level is preferred for mixing, but any engineer can level the tracks to their preferred level so as long as nothing is lighting up the peak lights you're good to go.

You can simply turn the master down if you want the files to be a lower level when bouncing, although you're not achieving anything. whether you turn the files down or the mixer does, it makes no odds.

Golden rule don't record too hot, there's no need with digital.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2016, 12:22 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Boucing Tracks Question

I am not boucing a mix i am exporting the audio files as stems, cant i set their levels and export them post fader?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:23 AM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: Boucing Tracks Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Bechara View Post
I am not boucing a mix i am exporting the audio files as stems, cant i set their levels and export them post fader?

I would ask the mix engineer what he/she wants. Don't add any processing that isn't part of the stems. Just simply bounce your stems ensuring they're not hitting 0dbfs. If you've been gain staging correctly during the creation process your buss' should be at the right level. I suggest between -12 and -6.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2018.10, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2016, 09:35 AM
Larold Larold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 217
Default Re: Boucing Tracks Question

Don't Bounce anything. Select the stems, and a stereo mix and Export those stems as a new session. Let the stage handle the level.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2016, 11:40 PM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Boucing Tracks Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larold View Post
Don't Bounce anything. Select the stems, and a stereo mix and Export those stems as a new session. Let the stage handle the level.
Can you please elaborate a little more on this ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2016, 06:32 AM
HMV HMV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Boston
Posts: 10
Default Re: Boucing Tracks Question

I may be reading this wrong but it sounds like you've got your levels too hot before hitting the master? Are you monitoring pre or post fader? You certainly don't want to "limit" anything before giving your tracks to your mix engineer. On the flip side, you want to make sure your record level isn't too hot or there won't be much headroom for your mix engineer to work with.

If your record levels are fine and it's just your master fader that's seeing too much signal, a good "cheat" trick of mine is to select all tracks, bring EVERYTHING down by 5-10db, then unselect all tracks and bring the master back to unity. You never want to touch your master fader. It will lie to you.

Hope this helps?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boucing Problem Rjkirk1 Pro Tools 9 0 11-02-2011 05:53 PM
PT 7 LE Qtime boucing eastcote 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-08-2009 10:54 AM
boucing tracks rikim Tips & Tricks 8 08-04-2006 01:09 AM
Boucing to Disk 140 min!!!!!!? chahende 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-28-2005 01:55 AM
Problem when boucing sounds less than 1 second L2P Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 06-27-2002 07:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com