Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2018, 12:58 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,592
Default What's your experience with DSD recording

I've just been reading up on DSD recording. Never tried it and it seems that it has some pretty major drawbacks, at least for multitrack recording, since you can't really do it with any modern DAW. Although I guess Pyramix with the Masscore hardware can do it?

But it's supposed to sound a bit different from traditional PCM recording.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2018, 02:37 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,469
Default Re: What's your experience with DSD recording

My experience is that it's a thing from the past like minidisc.

The idea behind that 1-bit recording is thinking the Nyquist Theory might not be true. Sure, thinking out of the box, but it's like thinking that sampling more often must be more accurate, but as analog signal needs infinite amount of 1-bit sampling to be 100% accurate, I tend to think that we should believe in Nyquist.

He said that whatever frequencies we need to represent, we need double sampling rate -- as in representing frequencies up to 24kHz we only need 48k sampling rate, and the word length (bits) represents the dynamic range.

The only real reason why we have higher (so called HD) sampling rates is because of the AD/DA converters that are not ever perfect. Pushing the imperfectness outside human hearing makes it more HD, not the fact that we could represent frequencies up to 48kHz. Why we have 192k I don't know, maybe marketing for the folks that still believe bigger is better. The "perfect" solution would have been adopting one 64kHz sampling rate to begin with, without all this HD nonsense.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2018, 02:51 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,241
Default Re: What's your experience with DSD recording

Pyramix and Sonoma

DAD AX32 and the Avid MTRX (because they are the same) can also do DSD. There are recorders from Tascam, Korg, and Sony too.

Editing and mixing DSD is a real pain/impossible. Often there's a temporary conversion to PCM to do the edit/mix/plugin and then a re-conversion back to DSD. Multitrack recording, however, is no issue at all for DSD. It's just processing the signal after capture that can be a problem.

Other than classical with direct capture to DSD, one of the DSD workflows is capture multitrack to DSD, output to analogue, mix in analogue, recapture the mix to DSD. So the benefits of DSD exist as the recording/playback medium.

All but certain that DSD will never be supported by Avid/Pro Tools. There's a better chance that Pro Tools would get DXD as it is PCM but they haven't moved the bar past 192k. And to think the move for Digidesign/Pro Tools from 44.1/48 -> 88/96 -> 192 in hardware/software happened at a much quicker pace than how long we've been sitting at 192k. (maybe they were waiting for hardware which they now have in the MTRX which also supports DXD)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.10, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2018, 03:05 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,241
Default Re: What's your experience with DSD recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
The idea behind that 1-bit recording is thinking the Nyquist Theory might not be true. Sure, thinking out of the box, but it's like thinking that sampling more often must be more accurate, but as analog signal needs infinite amount of 1-bit sampling to be 100% accurate, I tend to think that we should believe in Nyquist.
DSD is not about not believing Nyquist.

Outside of what filters bring to conversion and how DSD and PCM differ, the data storage requirements are very beneficial for DSD where DSD's closest capture equivalent in PCM is 384kHz.

if only as an archival format, DSD is worth keeping.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.10, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2018, 03:18 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,469
Default Re: What's your experience with DSD recording

So I have a misconception then, my bad...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2018, 04:59 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,592
Default Re: What's your experience with DSD recording

So the Avid MTRX can capture to DSD, but Protools can't process the files. Brilliant!!
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-08-2018, 06:00 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,241
Default Re: What's your experience with DSD recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
So the Avid MTRX can capture to DSD, but Protools can't process the files. Brilliant!!
Not Avid's fault. The MTRX is a DAD AX32 rebranded. And DAD had made DSD hardware for Pyramix before (branded under Pyramix before Pyramix started their Merging Horus/Hapi.) And Pyramix is a big supporter for DSD.

Not to mention, they (Digital Audio Denmark) are big in the classical/symphony circles where DSD recordings (and super fidelity) has more a market place.

But it would be a fundamental change for Pro Tools to support DSD. You can still use the MTRX to capture DSD (with other DAWs) and then convert to PCM and use with Pro Tools. There are proponents of that process (that DSD->PCM is a better capture than just doing PCM input.) I haven't tested it or have an opinion there.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.10, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated from 11 to 12 and now i experience lag after recording Emperor666 Pro Tools 12 5 09-06-2017 10:30 AM
Anybody have experience with the BLA B-173 pre? IVcrane Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 03-16-2014 06:32 PM
What´s your experience recording and mixing in Pro Tools 9 through Yamaha N12 mixer? mogan Pro Tools 9 3 11-29-2010 02:39 PM
Experience with G5 2.3 Ghz PCI-x khoop2112 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-28-2009 01:40 PM
Recording NI Kore Electronic Experience greg1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 09-20-2008 08:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com