Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-05-2018, 08:10 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,030
Default Re: Commit Sucks!!

Using tons of VIs here. Trilian, Kontakt, Sampletank, Accent, AAS, etc. Which VI is giving you problems?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-05-2018, 09:46 AM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 304
Default Re: Commit Sucks!!

#metoo - although I've had EZDrummer crash it once when trying to commit. I chalked it up to being plugin specific, because everything else works fine, and it only happened once.

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / Nuendo 10 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4.5 / Komplete 12
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-05-2018, 09:20 PM
del cosmos del cosmos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 258
Default Re: Commit Sucks!!

Commit working great here.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-06-2018, 12:12 AM
gonsdeejay's Avatar
gonsdeejay gonsdeejay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: México City
Posts: 201
Default Re: Commit Sucks!!

Hi guys, thanks for all your feedback, I use VI like Native Instruments Komplete 10, Spire, Sylenth1, Z3TA2+, All AIR Instrument like, Hybrid, Loom2, Vacuum Pro, Structure, and no matter what VI I use, All the Time Commit Freeze Pro Tools 2018.3. With My PC, My Mac is 2011, and can't run many of my Sessions, and actually right now, I start a new Project to Check if Problem Happend only on my PC and an my Mac doesn't happen Like on PC, but it Crashes Pro Tools too, I check every week for VI and plugins Updates and everything is updated. So, I try different ways to make commit, mean with Plugins and without plugins. and this is the same result. I'm goin to make a short Video of What happens here.

Thanks guys again.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10. UAudio Apollo X8, 8 Duo & Apollo Twin. Custom PC i7-7700K 16 Gb Ram Thunderbolt 3 SYSTEM-1KRK V88. Yamaha HS7 Korg ESX-1 MBOX2 003Rack Mackie MCU Producing My Own Life
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-07-2018, 05:03 PM
noah330 noah330 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 462
Default Re: Commit Sucks!!

I love Commit
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-08-2018, 01:06 PM
Michael James Michael James is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 132
Default Re: Commit Sucks!!

Commit works well here, with one exception: I often end up with extremely long handles (for lack of a better term) at the end of the committed audio file. For example, if I commit a 3 minute vocal with an EQ plugin, I may end up with a 4 minute committed file. The result sounds as it should, but tacks on extra space at the end of the file.

I sometimes get the same thing when committing VIs.
__________________
Michael James
michaeljamesproducer.com
www.IndieProMix.com

System info: PT Ultimate 2019.6 HDX, Mac Pro 5,1 Westmere, OS 10.13.3, UAD2 Octo PCIe, 2x Lynx Aurora16 w LTHD cards, 1x Lynx Aurora(n) 32 ch analog I/O DigiLink, 4x Dangerous Convert-8 (AES via Lynx), Dangerous Convert-2 (AES via Lynx), Dangerous Vonvert AD+, Apogee Big Ben, SSD boot drive, external FW800 audio drives
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-08-2018, 01:16 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,348
Default Re: Commit Sucks!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael James View Post
Commit works well here, with one exception: I often end up with extremely long handles (for lack of a better term) at the end of the committed audio file. For example, if I commit a 3 minute vocal with an EQ plugin, I may end up with a 4 minute committed file. The result sounds as it should, but tacks on extra space at the end of the file.

I sometimes get the same thing when committing VIs.
Yes, the same happens with track freeze. I think it could have something to do with modelling plugins that include noise.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-09-2018, 09:17 AM
PhiBee's Avatar
PhiBee PhiBee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Strasbourg - FRANCE
Posts: 138
Default Re: Commit Sucks!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Yes, the same happens with track freeze. I think it could have something to do with modelling plugins that include noise.


An easy way: volume automation :)
No more disturbing noise or verb release.


———////———
WIP house Prod
__________________
WIP house Prod - home studio
iMAC 4K i7 - 10.14.6 - Pro Tools 2019.12 - Audient iD22 - Behringer ADA8200 - Digidesign C|8 / Presonus Faderport. NI KK A61. LNA Video Slave 4.
STUDIO PRO Post-prod
MAC Pro "Trash can" - 10.14.6 - Pro Tools HDX + Ultimate 2019.12 /Avid C|24/S3/ProTools|Dock. Blackmagic.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-09-2018, 10:10 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,348
Default Re: Commit Sucks!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhiBee View Post
An easy way: volume automation :)
No more disturbing noise or verb release.


———////———
WIP house Prod
Or mute automation :) but that's not a problem for me here, this bothers me more. https://youtu.be/F8kUNcrhrto
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-09-2018, 01:59 PM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,294
Default Re: Commit Sucks!!

Can we rename this thread to “Commit and Offline Bounce Has Literally Saved Me Hundreds of Hours of time” ? Cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Commit or not to Commit, that is the question. georgejw22 Pro Tools 10 10 12-20-2011 06:30 AM
man this sucks keny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-24-2003 07:14 PM
5.1.1 really sucks!! GROS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 07-06-2001 04:26 AM
Win 98 SUCKS Shan Plourde 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-25-2001 10:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com