Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-23-2017, 12:31 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,706
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

The issue where the click makes it crash?

I am not sure, I’m still printing the click and using the audio print.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-23-2017, 01:30 AM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 586
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
The issue where the click makes it crash?

I am not sure, I’m still printing the click and using the audio print.
Isn't click-printing a pain? 12.6.1 worked very well for me; midi worked largely as expected.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.5GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT19.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-23-2017, 01:51 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,706
Default How good is PT 12.8.3?

Been mixing mostly lately, so I didn’t have a need.

I started last week composing again, Composing then tracking then mixing.


But I had issues with my midi keyboard and Win10 that turned out to be user error, when i got it fixed I think I screwed up my d-command connection somehow....

I am currently cloning drives over the holidays so I can try to get back to ground zero

But printing a click usually only went for 2 bars, then I use a drum beat to ruff the rest of the core of the song

Hey printing 2 bars is not bad compared to the GUI issues Mac has been having over the last year and a half., and the 9163 issues a lot of people have.

But yes thanks for the info about 12.6.1 - depending on how it goes with my setup and my d-command I might jump to another PT version
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-23-2017, 03:08 AM
bartosz idzi bartosz idzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 74
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by abomeerza View Post
For me it is very cool and fast and awesome
Mac 10.12.6
does alt-h "shift by sample" work for you reliably or is it the same as for us here? http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2465170&postcount=7
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-23-2017, 08:41 AM
del cosmos del cosmos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 258
Default How good is PT 12.8.3?

So far 12.8.3 its been working great here! The implementation with the S6 is awesome.

Only thing I don’t like is that it takes forever to close a session because it reads every single track in my session including all the hidden and unused tracks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by del cosmos; 12-23-2017 at 10:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-23-2017, 10:07 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,172
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

(referring to Windows users waiting before updating)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
Any reason why?
Yes yes yes, very yes - this thread http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=395249 . Many of us Windows users suffered a barrage of Access Violation Errors in 12.8.2, and these are not fixed in 12.8.3. Avid are aware of the issue, but for now I'd strongly recommend all Windows users to stay on 12.8.1 that's been pretty solid for me.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2019 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-23-2017, 04:55 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,360
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
Any reason why?
No much change since 12.8.1, at least for music production on PTSW
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-25-2017, 09:04 PM
del cosmos del cosmos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 258
Default How good is PT 12.8.3?

After a few days working with PTHDX 12.8.3 on Sierra, I am able to say that this version is very stable on my system, a modded Mac Pro Tower running Sierra, 64gb ram, and hundreds of VI’s and Plug ins.

I’m very happy, It is fare to give recognition to the AVID team.
This was my best christmas gift guys, thank you.

Keep the good work!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by del cosmos; 12-26-2017 at 07:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-25-2017, 09:44 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,438
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Right There With You My Friend

Runs like a dream both Apollo Systems and HDX2 system.

Avid did a Great Job IMHO of course. I am sad many users have issues with the latest versions together but all these computers used for many things if you don't have dedicated Audio computers it will fail some, it is just the nature of software and hardware.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-26-2017, 07:50 AM
del cosmos del cosmos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 258
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Right There With You My Friend



Runs like a dream both Apollo Systems and HDX2 system.



Avid did a Great Job IMHO of course. I am sad many users have issues with the latest versions together but all these computers used for many things if you don't have dedicated Audio computers it will fail some, it is just the nature of software and hardware.


+1000

I’m really digging Workspace, its been working great! There’s no need to open Ableton Live anymore (at least for loops browsing).

Again, thank you avid.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lots of plugins Ilok TDM/RTAS/AAX/VST/AU (good ones for a good price) usastra Buy & Sell 19 02-18-2013 11:46 AM
IS IT GOOD COMPRESSORS OR GOOD MASTERING NEIGHTD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-03-2005 10:22 AM
Good studio furniture at a good price? mastershredder 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 06-10-2005 11:47 AM
Grid use, one hits and time stretching, also good sites for good one hit sample compblue 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-05-2003 01:16 AM
Is MicroLogic AV a good a good MDI program? toecat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-12-2001 07:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com