Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2010, 10:27 AM
JoeM JoeM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 72
Default How much RAM for PT Native on Mac Pro 8 Core 2.26?

Finally replacing my old 001 and just purchased a 2009 8 Core 2.26 Mac Pro. Looking to get PT Native with an Omni I/O and a UAD-2 QUAD NEVE. Stock MP has 6 1GB sticks of RAM now. I was thinking of purchasing 2 4GB sticks, bringing total RAM to 14 GB.

Will that be ok for this system? TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2010, 12:28 PM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 837
Default Re: How much RAM for PT Native on Mac Pro 8 Core 2.26?

That will be ok, but you have to use plugins which use the "memory server technology", for example Kontakt 4.
That´s a feature which holds the plugin RAM outside Pro Tools, otherwise you are stuck to the 32 bit RAM limit of approx 3.2 Gb.
With the Memory server you can use all your 14 Gb of RAM.
__________________
iMac Pro - HDX - Mojave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2010, 01:48 PM
Jack Ruston Jack Ruston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45
Default Re: How much RAM for PT Native on Mac Pro 8 Core 2.26?

Intetesting...So which plug ins use that approach?

I've just bought a dual 2.4 8 core with the stock 6gb ram. I haven't used it yet because I'm waiting for a card to arrive. How many spare slots do I have for RAM then? What can I add cost effectively?

Thanks

Jack
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2010, 07:19 PM
JoeM JoeM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 72
Default Re: How much RAM for PT Native on Mac Pro 8 Core 2.26?

You'll also have 8 slots in the newer 2.4 8 core so you have 2 free slots if you keep the 6 GB of RAM that comes with it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2010, 11:04 PM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 837
Default Re: How much RAM for PT Native on Mac Pro 8 Core 2.26?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeM View Post
You'll also have 8 slots in the newer 2.4 8 core so you have 2 free slots if you keep the 6 GB of RAM that comes with it.
Correct but to optimize performance you should install in tripples 3+3 RAM modules in current MacPro´s. I don´t know the performance difference in real life though...
__________________
iMac Pro - HDX - Mojave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-28-2010, 11:18 PM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: How much RAM for PT Native on Mac Pro 8 Core 2.26?

Correct but to optimize performance you should install in tripples 3+3 RAM modules in current MacPro´s.

Urban legend, or does apple not know this "secret"?

From the Mac Pro customization page...

6GB (6X1GB)
8GB (4X2GB) [Add $150.00]
12GB (6X2GB) [Add $450.00]
16GB (8x2GB) [Add $750.00]
24GB (6X4GB) [Add $2,550.00]
32GB (8x4GB) [Add $3,550.00]

Half of the options are not "threes"...

Now I'm not a Mac guy, but I believe what "threes" you do find in there are more the result of memory prices than of some performance benefit...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-28-2010, 11:50 PM
taylorbatchelor taylorbatchelor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 11
Default Re: How much RAM for PT Native on Mac Pro 8 Core 2.26?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
[B]
Now I'm not a Mac guy, but I believe what "threes" you do find in there are more the result of memory prices than of some performance benefit...
It's not Mac specific but processor architecture specific. You used to buy in pairs because processors had 2 channels through which to access memory but with advances in processor design and software complexity, demand for access to resources has gone up. A lot of dual channel memory can still keep up just fine with the newest stuff but a triple channel system will perform more efficiently for the time being; eventually we'll want quad channel memory and so on and so on.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:20 AM
JoeM JoeM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 72
Default Re: How much RAM for PT Native on Mac Pro 8 Core 2.26?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
Correct but to optimize performance you should install in tripples 3+3 RAM modules in current MacPro´s.

Now I'm not a Mac guy, but I believe what "threes" you do find in there are more the result of memory prices than of some performance benefit...
Here's a good article that explains and discusses it:
http://digitalcontentproducer.com/af...y_trials_0713/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD|Native on Mac Pro 12 Core VS 6 or 8 Core + UAD-2 DUO Neve? Belegur Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 05-08-2012 08:56 PM
Advice? '09 8-core Mac or '10 quad-core for PT 10 Native? storypod Pro Tools 10 6 12-12-2011 03:28 PM
HELP! Mac Pro 2.66 Quad Core or 2.26 8 Core for HD Native/Pro Tools 10 sws2h macOS 1 11-06-2011 04:12 PM
Which Mac Pro for HD Native? 2008 8 Core or 2009 Quad Core? sws2h Pro Tools 10 6 11-03-2011 03:23 PM
Native +Core Audio wmcintyre macOS 0 10-27-2011 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com