Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2013, 06:51 PM
ExpressMix ExpressMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 10
Default Demo Won't Activate

Downloaded and installed the new license manager (55mb) and all my licenses still show up as normal. I'll install PT 11 next and see what happens.

Note: PT 11 is incompatible with my earlier PT 10 demo, so I have to remove that (or update v10 which I won't do) before installing PT 11, otherwise the installer won't continue, will just tell you "incompatible version".

PT 11 Demo Install: Timed it with my iPhone stopwatch. The installer ran for 13.5 minutes, which feels like an eternity compared to my other hosts It asks to restart, I do that and launch.

First Launch:I previously manually activated my PT 11 iLok licences in the License Manger and when launched PT asked to activate, and failed. So I went to "deactivate" those licenses on my iLok to see if that would work. It's just kind of sitting there for a long time doing nothing... :) ... saying "Operation In Progress"... so I quit the license manager.

Reassurance Test: Ran my other DAW's to be sure my iLok plugs were still showing up, and they are. (whew! :))

PT 11 Won't Activate: Maybe because (no clue) I activated the licenses manaully in the License Manager first? They show up on my iLok with a valid activation date but I can't launch PT, it keeps trying to activate and failing.



Deactivate?: I figure (maybe?) if I deactivate it will move the license from the iLok back to my account and then maybe the PT launch activation will work. It just sits here doing nothing for long periods of time...



So in short, I spent about 3 hours downloading the demo files, wasted another 30+ minutes trying to actually run the thing and it won't run.

On the plus side, my other licenses didn't get corrupted.

Not sure what to do now to actually get PT 11 to launch.



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2013, 07:43 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Demo Won't Activate

I've run the PT10 demo several times in PT11 so I don't think that is your problem.

Pace has had some weird problems. A little testing before launch would have been a good idea.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2013, 08:43 PM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Demo Won't Activate

From what I have read on here, the PT 11 demo does not require an iLok license...you just start it, enter your iLok ID when requested, and go.

Do a search on here for more info...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2013, 07:38 AM
ExpressMix ExpressMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 10
Default Re: Demo Won't Activate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
From what I have read on here, the PT 11 demo does not require an iLok license...you just start it, enter your iLok ID when requested, and go.

Do a search on here for more info...
So why does AVID put a demo iLok license in your account if it doesn't require an iLok license?

At any rate, I can't launch the demo, it won't activate, even though I have valid demo licenses in my iLok account... as you can clearly see the iLok license in the screenshot in the first post?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2013, 07:40 AM
ExpressMix ExpressMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 10
Default Re: Demo Won't Activate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward View Post
I've run the PT10 demo several times in PT11 so I don't think that is your problem.

Pace has had some weird problems. A little testing before launch would have been a good idea.
I suppose. I don't even have PT 10 installed. I'm only trying to demo PT 11.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2013, 07:47 AM
mrjohn mrjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 124
Default Re: Demo Won't Activate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
From what I have read on here, the PT 11 demo does not require an iLok license...you just start it, enter your iLok ID when requested, and go.
I believe that's incorrect. If you do that you get the error message 'This license can only be activated to an iLok2'
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 2.8GHz Quad
OSX 10.10.5, PTHD 12.4.0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2013, 09:18 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Demo Won't Activate

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjohn View Post
I believe that's incorrect. If you do that you get the error message 'This license can only be activated to an iLok2'
Are you installing the "demo" download or the "real deal" download. From what I have read on here there is a difference.

Downloading the "demo" version was the method being used to run PT 11 by those who were having iLok problems....
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-2013, 09:26 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Demo Won't Activate

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExpressMix View Post
I suppose. I don't even have PT 10 installed. I'm only trying to demo PT 11.
Since PT10 sessions can be opened in PT11, I'm not sure what the problem could be. I did have difficulty downloading the PT11 demo, that's why I used the PT10 demo since I already had that on my computer.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-23-2013, 09:30 AM
mrjohn mrjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 124
Default Re: Demo Won't Activate

No you still need an ilok2 for the demo. The reason it is good for those having problems is that you don't have to surrender anything to get it and you can download it onto a spare ilok to keep you with a working protools (10 and 11) while the ilok problems get sorted.

I have PT10+CPTK on my main ilok. I put the HD11 demo on my ilok2 so I have essentially done the upgrade already without risking anything on my main ilok, or spending any money. I now have 30 days to decide whether to keep it, at which point I'll have to pay for it.

The software is the same, it's just the licence that is different.
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 2.8GHz Quad
OSX 10.10.5, PTHD 12.4.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 7.4 turned nito demo after loading demo project!!! mrblwood Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-02-2012 01:53 PM
The De-activate/re-activate plugins routine nightmare superbask Pro Tools 9 0 03-21-2011 12:51 PM
8 LE won't activate JustGotPaid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-05-2010 08:15 PM
Waves API demo. thoughts and clever demo trick! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-10-2007 06:14 AM
DIGI- How do you activate TL Space Demo? Imagine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 09-08-2004 01:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com