Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:54 AM
Freddie Rodriguez Freddie Rodriguez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default Mbox still sounds like loud wind

The MBox output sound like loud wind (or white noise) when I try to playback an audio file or video clip...
The spdif light and the USB light in the front of the box are on at the same time...
If I connect a headset in the front of the Mbox I also hear the noise...
If I play a video with Xpress DV Pro HD thru the Mbox which is how it’s normally connected, I hear the same problem but if I connect the speakers to the audio board on the computer the audio sounds OK...
I install Protools on my Laptop using Ver 6.7 with the same Mbox connected to it, it sound OK no problems, At least the Mbox is OK and the spdif light and the USB light in the front of the box are not on at the same time…
Something is corrupted in the software on my main computer... I haven’t found any info on the web site about a related problem.

PC intel board 3.0 processor - 3gig of ram Xpress Pro HD and Protools Ver. 7
Did not installed any new software or hardware

Things I’ve tried…
1. Reinstalled the drives.
2. Reinstalled Protools Ver 7.
3. Installed protools with the problem Mbox on laptop, and this is OK.
4. Disabled Mbox on the PC restarted the PC with out the Mbox… reconnected and had the PC install the drive from the Protools Ver. 6.9 Disk since the Ver. 7 is just in one file no drivers folder, reinstalled the driver it found, the driver says it’s an older version, installed it anyway.
---Problem did not go away..

Please help.
Freddie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2006, 12:33 PM
Ducky Ducky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 929
Default Re: Mbox still sounds like loud wind

Make sure you don't touch anything while PT is booting up (or the computer for that matter).

Not sure if that will fix your problem, but with my MBox1, every time I did ANYTHING while PT was booting, I got some very strange sounds coming out of my monitors and had to reboot.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2006, 04:11 PM
Musikguy Musikguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: Mbox still sounds like loud wind

You have your input source set to S/DIF which changes your clock source to S/DIF. Go to setup and then choose Hardware. Change input from S/DIF to Analog and it should output correctly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Structure FREE Sounds 114 - Wind Instruments RussUK Virtual Instruments 0 08-10-2009 03:33 PM
Loud click and pop when auditioning sounds CD Productions Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-28-2006 12:41 PM
Mbox sounds like loud wind Freddie Rodriguez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-28-2006 10:11 AM
Auditioning sounds in project browser loud!! Mark 66 Post - Surround - Video 0 07-22-2004 02:45 PM
Loud sounds in ProTools FREE abrice Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 04-05-2002 01:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com