Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2018, 08:33 PM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 912
Default 2018.4 ultimage buggy

I am having two pretty significant issues. I have a guitar solo track that just keeps turning off. The plugins stop working. I make inactive and then active and it comes back. Every time it gets to a certain part of it bam it shuts off again. I tried commiting and duplicating it but it still does it.

Elastic audio is doing some weird stuff as well. I edit a vocal and then commit it and it changes stuff. Not the same. Like by a lot.

I am going to try 2018.3 and see if its any better.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2018, 11:53 AM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 622
Default Re: 2018.4 ultimage buggy

The first symptom sounds like automated mutes or some sort of automation issue. If it always happens at the the same time it seems like something is triggering the behavior. You may want to check the automation lanes for that track. Another thing you could try is copying the audio to another track and set up the same plugin chain then kill the old track.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2018, 03:44 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,639
Default Re: 2018.4 ultimage buggy

Hi !

Sorry to hear that . Well make shure all ypur plugins are up to date . And try deleting databases and preferences too . Don't forget to check automation as said above .
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2018, 11:38 AM
Spanzor Spanzor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 24
Default Re: 2018.4 ultimage buggy

This is a more comprehensive thread dealing with what OP is referring to regarding the ELASTIC AUDIO RENDERING not being anywhere near accurate.

I have spoken with AVID extensively about this and there is no timeline for the fix. All plugins are up to date, Pro Tools 2018.4 running on MAC OSX 10.13.4.

There are no plugins on the elastic track in question. Trashing the prefs and databases does nothing. No automation.


https://www.gearslutz.com/board/avid...-accurate.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2018, 11:41 AM
Spanzor Spanzor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 24
Default Re: 2018.4 ultimage buggy

Also I do understand that 2018.4 is not supported with OSX 10.13.4, but I can get the same problem to replicate on any system. A friend has OSX 10.13.3 and runs 2018.1 and has the same issues.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2018, 05:05 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,639
Default Re: 2018.4 ultimage buggy

Hi spanzor !

I run PT 2018.4 on Mac os 10.13.4 and Win 10 on my other machine with no issues at all. I do recording mixing and mastering all the time . Im a full user of the DAW like you all .

Btw the OP never said his specs :-/ .
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2018, 05:09 PM
Spanzor Spanzor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 24
Default Re: 2018.4 ultimage buggy

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeam25 View Post
Hi spanzor !

I run PT 2018.4 on Mac os 10.13.4 and Win 10 on my other machine with no issues at all. I do recording mixing and mastering all the time . Im a full user of the DAW like you all .

Btw the OP never said his specs :-/ .
Thanks for your input, I understand it does work pretty well. Do me a favor and check out the gearslutz thread from my first post. Can you screenshot your results of the elastic audio being rendered accurately? This happens on every rig I work on. I'd love to know what makes your rig is so special!

Keep in mind, I'm not just turning the track into an elastic audio track and then rendering it, I'm stretching it around a bunch with my own warp markers after deleting all of the analysis markers. PM me if you need help. Can't wait to see the results!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2018, 05:12 PM
Spanzor Spanzor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 24
Default Re: 2018.4 ultimage buggy

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeam25 View Post
Hi spanzor !

I run PT 2018.4 on Mac os 10.13.4 and Win 10 on my other machine with no issues at all. I do recording mixing and mastering all the time . Im a full user of the DAW like you all .

Btw the OP never said his specs :-/ .
Here's the thread I'm referring to in earlier post. Please post your screenshots!

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/avid...-accurate.html
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-15-2018, 05:17 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,639
Default Re: 2018.4 ultimage buggy

No problem , i think you should start another thread with your issue though. I will test for you that if that help others too, beleive me . Im on a very busy schedule right now but i will after reading all post on GS .
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-15-2018, 05:18 PM
Spanzor Spanzor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 24
Default Re: 2018.4 ultimage buggy

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeam25 View Post
No problem , i think you should start another thread with your issue though. I will test for you that if that help others too, beleive me . Im on a very busy schedule right now but i will after reading all post on GS .
Sounds good buddy. Again, Avid is already aware this is a problem and has said they have no timeline for a fix.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT HDX 2018.3 Atmos bed (7.1.2) DSP mixer buggy on bus paths Skwaidu Post - Surround - Video 2 08-28-2018 12:40 PM
2018.3 Atmos bed (7.1.2) DSP mixer buggy on bus paths Skwaidu Pro Tools 2018 5 03-26-2018 03:27 AM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 05:41 PM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 06:01 PM
iTunes 4 and Mbox are still a bit buggy (or I'm I buggy) Pat Thrall 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-24-2003 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com