Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-17-2018, 09:51 AM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: Any reason to renew?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanonbass View Post
Not once have I called tech support either. Never.
Never. The DUC does a much better job.
__________________
X99 | i7 5820 | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256HAFV-000H7 SSD 256GB | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT12.8.1 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-17-2018, 10:36 AM
electrowerks electrowerks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: IL, United States
Posts: 69
Default Re: Any reason to renew?

I am in the same boat. I have always updated my PT HD since 6.0 but I stopped at 12.5 only because of the grid quantize bug which was fixed in 12.8.2. Only problem is I let my update lapse because I did not want to pay for software I was not going to use. I am using a trial of 12.8.3 and its working great now but it sucks that I have to pay 999 for bug fixes.

I think Avid need to give you a one time a year amnesty to update at the 399 price. Or just go back to the 699 per major upgrade if thats how you want to upgrade. This will bite them in the ass over time. I know for a fact they modeled this plan after Adobe's plan. I have friends in the graphic industry that are swithching apps because of the price.

I also think Avid focuses on the Post business for cash. I don't think they are in tune with the small/mid recording studio that is struggling to keep their heads above water in the ****ty music business economy.

Thanks for listening to my rant.
__________________
Chuck Macak
electrowerks recording

Mac Pro 3.7 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon E5
32gig ram
PT HD 12 with D-Command 24
Apogee Ensamble Thunderbolt
UAD2 Octo x2
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-17-2018, 11:21 AM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,893
Default Re: Any reason to renew?

My decision was fairly straight forward..Updated . Reason; the announcement of 12.8.3 being the last W7 supported release. That's where I am staying.

I have it now sitting unused...just in case I am more that happy on 12.4, which I open once or twice a month.
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-17-2018, 03:36 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 622
Default Re: Any reason to renew?

I let my plan lapse as of 12.7 putting me in what I'll call my "second cycle" of "lapse time" before I reinstate. As someone who works to picture 12 has been a disappointment. For a recent test I did for a new gig I had to roll back to 11.3 to work with video for smooth video playback. Ridiculous! I have had terrible 9173 errors when reinstalling 12.7. Sometimes it resolves by quitting the session and reloading but still. I am getting more broken takes than ever before and they want me to pay $999 to reinstate?

As I stated in another thread I have been toying with Harrison MixBus which sounds really good but I move so fast in Pro Tools it's hard to justify the change in workflow. Would love to give 12.8.3 a test run but I think I am going to sit out another cycle before reinstating and even then I intend to look for a discount as the one that came across in December where a vendor sent me an email stating a 20% discount on Avid products which would bring my price down to $799, which is still stupidly expensive for reinstatement for what we are getting.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-18-2018, 08:01 AM
GS-DK GS-DK is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 521
Default Re: Any reason to renew?

I have just renewed my HD plan but if I look back it seems like a waste of money. Hopefully the next year will be better - I will like to stay and update, but I find it's hard to continue to use the money for tiny updates.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-18-2018, 08:33 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,697
Default Re: Any reason to renew?

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
it is just like the "Help Us Help YOu" Document that NO One New to the Forums reads, and we have to direct them to it .. i was hoping that at some point that would be a mandatory read before you could post or the very least make them post their Signature with System info before Posting .. but hey, i asked that too .. shot down in flames !!! .. haha
Hey that is a great idea, it would in fact help get pertinent info.....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-18-2018, 08:44 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,697
Default Re: Any reason to renew?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanonbass View Post
Not once have I called tech support either. Never.
I never called in the 2 years I had it either. However.....

I did email them several times...and it was to ask general questions, hardware related questions....

heck I even asked them about a serial number of a piece of hardware I was Planning on/going to purchase (used)

I do honestly miss the ability to email them for those odds and ends. Not enough to pay a ASC but yes I do miss that.

I'm shooting for 3 or 4 years off then I re-up when I need to upgrade my system (Computer) and tech has moved on....even if I break even with 3 years I can use my $1000 for something else meanwhile.

BTW - I just got a great deal on an HDX card........
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-18-2018, 04:25 PM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 912
Default Re: Any reason to renew?

I could deal with 500 to get back on but a 1000 for a piece of software this buggy is a ripoff.

I have hdx so I have already spent 8k on the rig. Throw us a bone here avid. This past year has been and utter waste of 399.00

Bad bug fixes is all I got. Still getting -9173 at times and midi is still buggy as hell.

I want to be sold on what’s ahead because it looks like I’m letting it lapse in its current state.

They need a new business model. Too much money for a piece of broken software. Yes it works ok but still a lot wrong with it. Prices are too high for what I’m gettimg. I like protools but I’m unhappy with the lack of features and buggy updates.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-18-2018, 04:51 PM
Samanthas Dream Samanthas Dream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: At Home
Posts: 89
Default Re: Any reason to renew?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanonbass View Post
I could deal with 500 to get back on but a 1000 for a piece of software this buggy is a ripoff.

I have hdx so I have already spent 8k on the rig. Throw us a bone here avid. This past year has been and utter waste of 399.00

Bad bug fixes is all I got. Still getting -9173 at times and midi is still buggy as hell.

I want to be sold on what’s ahead because it looks like I’m letting it lapse in its current state.

They need a new business model. Too much money for a piece of broken software. Yes it works ok but still a lot wrong with it. Prices are too high for what I’m gettimg. I like protools but I’m unhappy with the lack of features and buggy updates.
Amen!

I worry they are never going to listen. Look at this new version change that’s coming. It wreaks of lowering expectations between updates. For a very long time we’ve become accustom to expecting new features with each update, with this new system, I read it as don’t expect anything from us.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-19-2018, 09:53 AM
Mr.O Mr.O is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 73
Default Re: Any reason to renew?

But why the hell are you renewing, if you don´t get, what you want?
I am still on HD 11 and there is not much difference to the latest HD 12 versions
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To renew Pro Tools 12 Annual Upgrade Plan, click on Renew Support unkJE Pro Tools 12 0 03-30-2017 05:05 PM
How to renew? thewiz Licensing & Accounts 8 01-17-2017 02:50 PM
WUP - renew or not? musicman691 AAX Plug-ins 22 12-23-2015 01:39 AM
So what happens if I don't renew? roberts Licensing & Accounts 5 12-10-2015 01:32 PM
MP NFR Renew PRIMARY MUSIC Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 01-29-2009 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com