Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-16-2017, 08:46 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 877
Default Re: GTX 680 or HD7950 vid card and HDX-3 - how do i do power for the cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
what do people do when they have HDX-3 plus a video card that needs 2 power connections?

thanks
I have a magma chassis. Because I have a pcie usb3 card and 2 video cards.

Hdx3 is in a pcie to pcie magma chassis.

Yku should use external power supply like I have. If no additional pcie cards besides hdx3. That's the best solution for you. All the rewiring of sata power and trying to piggy back is not stable in certain power draws. For an hdx3 you are already at the full slot count. Add the newer video card and that is most likely over the recommended spec of the mac power supply. The external power supply I have the fan is silent. Can't hear it.

I'm running 5 monitors and a LCD TV on my rig. No hiccups at all.

Magma chassis is 2k ? I forget. External power supply is like 250 bucks.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-16-2017, 11:21 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: GTX 680 or HD7950 vid card and HDX-3 - how do i do power for the cards?

I put the 680 in my 12 or Macpro about for five months ago, it was just simply plug and play. I didn't have to use any additional cabling or anything else to get it the power needed. Simply pulled out the old card, and replaced it with a new one. I couldn't be happier!
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-17-2017, 09:28 AM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 809
Default Re: GTX 680 or HD7950 vid card and HDX-3 - how do i do power for the cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
I put the 680 in my 12 or Macpro about for five months ago, it was just simply plug and play. I didn't have to use any additional cabling or anything else to get it the power needed. Simply pulled out the old card, and replaced it with a new one. I couldn't be happier!
Barry are you also HDX-3?

that is my issue.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-17-2017, 04:06 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: GTX 680 or HD7950 vid card and HDX-3 - how do i do power for the cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
Barry are you also HDX-3?

that is my issue.
No, sorry, HD Native.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-18-2017, 02:50 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 251
Default Re: GTX 680 or HD7950 vid card and HDX-3 - how do i do power for the cards?

That does not help...

The HD Native card doesn t need additional power...
HDX Card like the graphics card need extra power...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-21-2017, 10:23 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 251
Default Re: GTX 680 or HD7950 vid card and HDX-3 - how do i do power for the cards?

Is there no one, who actually power a HDX Card through the SATA Port of the Mac Pro...

Its important for me, cause a success story is needed for me to pull the trigger on a HDX Card...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-21-2017, 12:45 PM
djjazzy41 djjazzy41 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Spirit Lake, IA, U.S.A.
Posts: 108
Default Re: GTX 680 or HD7950 vid card and HDX-3 - how do i do power for the cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
what do people do when they have HDX-3 plus a video card that needs 2 power connections?

thanks
Just use this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 . I plugged this into one of my MacPro's power connections and hooked both ends into my video card. Then I hooked the power cord that came with my HDX card into the other power connection point on the MacPro and into my HDX card. The cord that comes with an HDX card actually has three ends on it to power three HDX cards off the one cable. I run one large 4K monitor and one Apple Cinema Display off the video card while running HDX and have had no issues. Very cheap solution that works if you are not overloading your video card. As another poster noted, the HDX cards use very little power so they should never be an issue.
__________________
Originally Posted by The Egg: Be a Pro and stop being a Tool!


Mac Pro (5,1) 12-core Westmere 3.46gHz
OSX Sierra (10.12.6)
980Gb OWC Mercury Extreme Pro SSD system drive
(3) 1Tb 7200rpm audio hard drives
64Gb RAM
Sapphire HD 7950 Mac Edition Video Card
1 Avid HDX Card
Avid HD Omni, 3 Avid HD I/Os
PT HDX 12.8.0
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-21-2017, 01:21 PM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 251
Default Re: GTX 680 or HD7950 vid card and HDX-3 - how do i do power for the cards?

You know, that this way is very dangerous for your Mac pro...
The 2 powerconnectors provide 75 Watt for each connector...150 Watt for both... And 150 Watt are provide through the PCIe Bus...

With this Adapter the videocard uses more power than the port can deliver...
The Amd 7950 needs min 120 Watt... If you use your card for video or gaming...your mac pro can brick, cause it can´t handle the demand of the graphicscard...

But if you don´t use your AMD Card, there should be no problem...

I have a gtx980 flashed... So the only way is to use the sata port... I hope, somebody can confirm, that this way works...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-22-2017, 09:05 PM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default GTX 680 or HD7950 vid card and HDX-3 - how do i do power for the cards?

The right way to do it is: one Mac Pro power connector with the split cable going to both HDX and to the video card. And the other Mac Pro power connector going the the second port on the video card. That is the way I do it. And you don't over power the Mac pro connectors because the HDX uses little power (just for the fan actually).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-23-2017, 04:16 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 251
Default Re: GTX 680 or HD7950 vid card and HDX-3 - how do i do power for the cards?

Thx Fidelis for the advice... Can you tell me, which split Cable you use and where i can find it... The hdx mac powercable has a the mac pro proprietary power connector and not a normal 6 pin connector. Which graphiccard are you using?...
thx for help...

Another question to all Users...

Is it true that the new HDX Cards are coming with 3 Powercables... Mini Pcie 6 pin to Avid 4pin.. Full Pcie 6 pin to Avid 4 pin and at last Molex4 to Avid 4 Pin...

Can someone comfirm that.

If so, then a normal splitter cable will do the job...

Btw the Avid HDX Card needs <50w

Last edited by TrackerLe; 08-23-2017 at 04:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are HDX cards best way to get most power for PTHD awake Pro Tools 12 6 05-02-2017 07:41 PM
New HD PCI cards, 4x the power clarpark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 10-16-2007 01:43 PM
HD cards - power specs? Trailerman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-09-2006 02:05 AM
Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards Avid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 98 08-20-2003 09:10 PM
Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards Avid General Announcements 0 08-04-2003 08:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com