Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-05-2007, 08:04 PM

Default Noise problem possibly ground loop with mbox mini

Hi everyone, my first post here, and a newbie to computer recording. I am completely new to both macs and pro tools. The last two weeks have been a very steep learning curve with too many problems and many embarressing mistakes in spite of 8 months research before I purchased my new pro tools rig. After installing and uninstalling and reinstalling two versions of PTLE many times I now have everything basically running, but now with an annoying noise problem. I have done several searches of this forum but not turned up anything that I recognised as useful for my problem, although many people seem to have similar isssues.

First my new rig:

17" iMac MA590X/A 2Gb ram 2Ghz 160Gb HD on OSX 10.4.8
External HD - Lacie D2 Extreme 250Gb firewire 3 partitions: 1 Bootable backup 25Gb 2 personal stuff 50Gb 3 audio 175 Gb
Behringer UMX49 midi controller (not hooked up yet new to midi so leaving this alone until my audio is sorted)
Mbox Mini (shipped with 7.1.1). I qualified for the free upgrade to 7.3.1 which i have downloaded and installed. I have also installed the 7.3.1cs2 update. I have not yet installed the ignition pack will do that today sometime.

Old rig (which I have hooked up to the mac/PT rig):

Roland VS-880Ex MTR (will probably take this out once I have transferred all my songs into pro tools)
Yamaha MG10/2 mixer
Boss DR-880 drum machine (this is probably gonna be ditched depending on how i go with BFD)
Line 6 Pod original (upgraded chip to 2.0). A keeper. It just works.
Cheapo portable CD player
Yamaha KX-80 cassette deck
2 x SM58
5 x SM57