Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2007, 07:17 AM
t.wolfen t.wolfen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Default MBox 2 Pro Control Panel

HI,

I'm sorry this question has been posted already but I couldn't seem to find it anywhere.

I just got an Mbox and I installed everything and it works fine with Pro Tools.

My problem is that I want to also be able use the Mbox with other programs. I've researched and these tools do support the ASIO standard, and claim to work with an MBox. I think that the problem is with windows and the ASIO driver. In reading some of the driver documents from the different Mbox driver downloads they say there should be an Digideisgn Mbox Control Panel that I should be able to access from the windows control panel. No matter what I do, and no matter what driver I install, I can't seem to get this control installed. When I open the sound control panel in windows I do get to assign the output to the Mbox, but not the input. From what I've read this means that the Wave driver is working.

Does anyone have any ideas on what I can do to either get the MBox control panel up or be able to set the Mbox to the input sound card in windows?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2007, 08:13 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: MBox 2 Pro Control Panel

Everything is working correctly.

There are two drivers that are used by third party programs; the ASIO driver and the WaveDriver. There is no control panel for either one.

The ASIO driver is used by programs that can access it; other DAW programs like Sonar and Cubase. The ASIO driver would be controlled by the ASIO setup within those programs.

The WaveDriver is used for all basic windows audio. It is selected in the Windows audio control panel. However, it is a playback only driver. You cannot select it as the default windows audio device, becasuse it is not capable of that. You cannot use the Digidesign hardware for input into a program that requires the standard windows audio setup.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2007, 08:17 AM
t.wolfen t.wolfen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: MBox 2 Pro Control Panel

Well I wouldn't say everything is working correctly (outside of Pro Tools)... I'm trying to use it with Sonar and Sonar can not find it.

Is there no Mbox Control Panel? In the ASIO Driver guide PDF it says that there is, but I've installed every driver I can find and can't see it.

thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2007, 08:30 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: MBox 2 Pro Control Panel

The ASIO and WaveDrivers are installed by default with the Pro Tools software, there should be no need to "install every driver you can find", and actually doing so may screw things up quite a bit.

The ASIO control panel would be accessed from within Sonar.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a way to put a shortcut to the MBox control panel? richpjr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-23-2012 08:07 AM
Mbox 3 Control Panel Confusion guitar1965 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 08-22-2011 11:30 AM
Purpose of new MBox Control Panel? Ormond 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-08-2011 07:24 PM
Mbox Pro control panel crash mizieg macOS 8 08-05-2011 07:01 AM
MBox 2 Pro Control Panel ThunderKyss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-08-2009 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com