Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Old 03-21-2014, 11:57 AM

Default PT 11 Sample Rate Issue

I'm having a frustrating situation with PT11. I'm mainly a mix engineer and am frequently bouncing from one project to the next and they rarely have the same sample rate.

When I change the master clock and then go to play the newly opened session I get the flashing stop icon and then no playback. If you look at the system usage window you can see the info for memory and disk cache usage but there's no activity for the CPU usage. Sometimes I can go to the playback engine window and make a minor change like the cache size and then I'll see CPU action and all is well.

More often than not, however I'll make a change in the playback engine and then get the beautiful rolling beach ball and then I have to force quit.

Sometimes the only way to get going is to trash preferences.

Does anyone have any wisdom for me?
Old 03-21-2014, 12:00 PM

Default Re: PT 11 Sample Rate Issue

I gave up on 11 for now and rolled back to 10 on my test systems... Thats my advice
Old 03-21-2014, 12:26 PM

10 is of course an option, but that really is of no benefit to the discussion at hand.
Old 03-21-2014, 01:08 PM

I tell you what, the changing sample rates issues is getting really ****** annoying.

Is there a fix?

Avid...anyone?

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools Ultimate 2023.6 / HD|Native-TB
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Monterey / Protools Studio 2023.6, / DVS / DAR, L-ISA Studio

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre+HD32R / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Old 03-22-2014, 07:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post