Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:17 AM
ukeist ukeist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default Best way to set up a talkback?

Hoedy,

Wondering if anyone could offer some good solutions for setting up a talkback without having a console. All ideas appreciated!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:33 AM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,195
Default Re: Best way to set up a talkback?

Hoedy,
I run a 002 and bought a the 200 dollar Art DI/O box. It has a tube, 2 channels and built in clock that goes up to 96K. It is simple and SP/DIF. I then run a cheap, and I mean CHEAP mic to it and run that on a AUX track. That way it will not use up a audio track and I can mute it when not needed.

I plan on getting the Central Station though and use that as my talk feature. Run 1 out to my FURMAN headphone amp and away we go.

To setup a good mix what I have been doing (Thanks to Chris Cavell) is this:

For my FURMAN setup it is 4 MONO ins and a single stereo IN

I then in Pro Tools make my session like this

4 MONO Master FADERS
1 STEREO Master FADER (on top of the main master fader that is)

MONO FADER 1 = TALKBACK LEVEL = Analog Input 3
MONO FADER 2 = GUITAR = Analog Input 4
MONO FADER 3 = BASS = Analog Input 5
MONO FADER 4 = VOCALS = Analog Input 6
STEREO FADER = DRUMS = Analog Input 7/8

YOu then SEND the instruments to the designated tracks:

Your AUX talkback SEND goes to ANALOG INPUT 3
Your Guitars SEND goes to Analog Input 4
Your Bass SEND goes to Analog Input 5
Your Vocal SEND goes to ANALOG Input 6
Your Drums SEND goes STEREO to ANALOG Input 7/8

Then all you need to do is set the levels to a decent amount and set the mono faders to unity (odb) and HIDE THEM. If you own a furman headphone system, you set the SEND levels to say -15db and they can dial in the amount needed. If they need more, you up your SEND level.

Hope this makes sense.

- Doc
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON YOUTUBE

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:53 PM
Sevenlights Sevenlights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 78
Default Re: Best way to set up a talkback?

If I'm in a pinch, I just plug a 57 into one of my 002 mic pre's and set an Aux channel with that input, mute and un-mute or hit inst/line swtich on the digi to cut the mic signal. I mostly edit on this rig, so I don't spend alot on cash on it
__________________
Scott Cooke.
Mountain View Records
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Source Talkback AAX gets auto talkback MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 0 11-20-2013 09:15 AM
Talkback blackmatchstick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 06-07-2009 05:59 AM
C24 talkback Scott Goldberg ICON & C|24 0 12-02-2005 12:37 AM
Talkback mic rfreeman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-05-2001 01:44 AM
Talkback David Sutton General Discussion 7 11-22-1999 08:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com