Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2019, 02:00 PM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 325
Default Used HDX card without fan module

Is it possible to obtain a fan module (including the blacktop with printed avid logo) from avid or another source?

I am tempted to get an hdx card I've seen without one.

Anyone had any luck with running one without a fan?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2019, 02:08 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,109
Default Re: Used HDX card without fan module

That fan has always seemed unnecessary to me, and was one of the reasons I chose not to swap my HD3 to HDX
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2019, 02:11 PM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 325
Default Re: Used HDX card without fan module

ok interesting, so tell me why avid or the Chinese/american facility who manufacture this card for avid include one?

Im just curious..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2019, 02:12 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,109
Default Re: Used HDX card without fan module

Some propellerhead has determined a card produces X amount of heat and Avid cannot be sure every computer out there is capable of handling that much extra heat
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2019, 02:14 PM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 325
Default Re: Used HDX card without fan module

Gotcha!

So can we purchase this fan module separately? Or are we bound by Corporate Greed/ entitlement to send in for service and pay several hundreds of dollars for one?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2019, 02:17 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,109
Default Re: Used HDX card without fan module

I'm pretty sure anyone who disassembled the fan module also made the card not eligible to be serviced. So while there is no real reason why it wouldn't work, Avid might not even touch the card if you sent it in for service. I wouldn't know really, just guessing.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2019, 02:18 PM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 325
Default Re: Used HDX card without fan module

I suspect you'd be right. That said most of this stuff is out of warranty anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2019, 03:34 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: Used HDX card without fan module

Some HDX cards come from live rigs and might not work as traditional HDX.
Just a cautionary note.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.10 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-27-2019, 02:59 PM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 325
Default Re: Used HDX card without fan module

Hmm interesting, are they the fanless type do you know?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2019, 05:50 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,442
Default Re: Used HDX card without fan module

As has been mentioned on other thread about HDX cards, early prototypes had no fan.

Surely the seller can describe exactly what these are and why they have no fan.

If I was not sure what I was buying and not able to test stuff carefully I would not touch these things with a barge pole. At least one (seemingly self-inflicted) pile of pain has been described on DUC with folks trying to get HDX card's cheap and then running head long into Avid board repair policy/cost/time delays.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Module Adam Christopher General Discussion 5 03-26-2019 09:44 AM
Looking for a 402 module Patzag1 System 5 0 05-10-2016 11:50 PM
Module DFW.dll musicprodcast Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 0 03-14-2011 07:47 AM
synth module? Need help =) zara 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-01-2002 08:58 AM
TDM Module for NT ? Eduardo Apolonia Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 07-23-1999 01:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com