Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2010, 12:19 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,079
Default DAE Error -9019 & -9031 since PT 8.0.3

Hello Avid:

Since moving from the various 8.0.1 releases to 8.0.3, I frequently get the message:

Quote:
"DAE is having trouble keeping up. Your disk may be too slow...firewire, etc., etc. (-9019)"
which is followed by a beachball and then:

Quote:
"DAE error -9031 was encountered."

And this repeats until we quit the app and relaunch. Sometimes hours go by with no problem, sometimes we get this 3 times in an hour. We haven't seen this in PTHD, only on the PTLE/CPTK system listed below. We tried trashing databases and volumes folder.

Everything else about 8.0.3 is great.


Best,

Nathaniel Reichman
www.nathanielreichman.com

MacPro 2.8Ghz 8-core, 6GB RAM, 10.5.8, Pro Tools LE 8.0.3 with Complete Production Toolkit, Quicktime 7.6.4, Digi 002R, Control|24, Blackmagic Intensity Pro, eSATA hotswap tower, Baby HUI, Soundminer 4, Waves Platinum 6, Audio Ease All-In, Melodyne, SoundToys, Izotope RX, GRM Tools, PSP, Retrospect...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2010, 12:21 PM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: DAE Error -9019 & -9031 since PT 8.0.3

Do you have your audio spread over several drives and your video on a dedicated drive?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2010, 12:28 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,079
Default Re: DAE Error -9019 & -9031 since PT 8.0.3

I usually break the rules and run audio and video off the same drive. BUT, I had this problem in a session with no video today and low track count. As far as I can tell, the only variable in my otherwise stable system was moving to 8.0.3.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2010, 12:33 PM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: DAE Error -9019 & -9031 since PT 8.0.3

How many tracks (voices at once) are you reading from the one drive? may be this time, the files are written on the drive in a non continuous region of the plate, so the drive has to scan back and forth to read it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2010, 01:34 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,079
Default Re: DAE Error -9019 & -9031 since PT 8.0.3

Nothing has changed in my typical post workflow or drive usage since PT 7.3.

Thanks for posting, but I really doubt the non-contiguous file theory. If that were true, none of my projects would have worked with any version of Pro Tools. For now, I blame the .3.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2010, 01:51 PM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: DAE Error -9019 & -9031 since PT 8.0.3

Ok, so it must be .3. I am on 8.03 and although I had one massive, annoying, problem (0922 too many files corruption), 8.03 *at least for me*, has been a great improvement. I run HD2 and push it to the limit, I mean 192 voices (160 tracks+) + full HD film at 2k resolution. So far, so good but of course there are lots of bugz to fix, some worse than others. Good luck!

G
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2010, 04:39 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: DAE Error -9019 & -9031 since PT 8.0.3

I see you have an eSATA hotswap tower in there - is that what you're using for playback/record?

If so, have you tested with other drive types?

9019 is a drive error related to drive communication speed - we usually see it on PC's where drives are not in DMA mode.

The 9031 error is usually related to having illegal characters in the drive, file or folder name - is that possibly the case here (keep in mind that previously fudged illegal character acceptance is no longer possible, so what may have 'worked' before no longer will)?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2010, 07:20 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,079
Default Re: DAE Error -9019 & -9031 since PT 8.0.3

Quote:
I see you have an eSATA hotswap tower in there - is that what you're using for playback/record?
Yes. And I know it's not officially approved, but it's performed flawlessly every since PT 7.3 on a G5.

Quote:
If so, have you tested with other drive types?
No. Perhaps I'll run the session on one of my internal SATA drives.

Quote:
The 9031 error is usually related to having illegal characters in the drive, file or folder name - is that possibly the case here (keep in mind that previously fudged illegal character acceptance is no longer possible, so what may have 'worked' before no longer will)?
I thought I cleaned out all of my illegal characters in the PT6-7 transition. Thank you for writing back so quickly. I'll report back if I learn anything.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-17-2010, 10:46 PM
smpkeys smpkeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 191
Default Re: DAE Error -9019 & -9031 since PT 8.0.3

I just experienced this same problem. I've been on 8.0.3 for about 2 weeks and have not seen this, however , tonight I was using the playlist lanes view for the first time, and that's when it occurred. All my drives are internal SATAs - 1 for OS, 1 for audio, 1 for samples. Not using any video in my session, and no illegal characters.

reichman - have you found a solution with your setup?
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz 6 Core Xeon,32 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.5, PT 12.4, RME Fireface UFX, Command 8, Mytek 8x192, SSD evo on System,Audio&Samples on spinner drives WD SATA 64mb Cache
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-18-2010, 11:35 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,079
Default Re: DAE Error -9019 & -9031 since PT 8.0.3

Haven't found a solution yet, primarily because it is happening infrequently now. Occured once yesterday when opening an Audiosuite plug-in window.

Every time it does happen, it will continue persistently until I save, quit and restart PT.

When I get out from under this mountain of work, I'll try another drive type for a while and see if that helps.

For the record PT 8.0.3 is really stable. For PT8 doubters, now is the time to get onboard (is Frank Kruse reading this? :) )

Best,

Nathaniel Reichman
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dae error 9019/9031 shaunandrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 04-10-2011 12:38 PM
Error -9019 and -9031 henrikas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-05-2011 09:34 AM
Structure v1.1 error 9031 and 9019 insanesounds Virtual Instruments 62 03-16-2011 03:19 AM
err -9019, -9031 greetings to Digidesign. sotger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-03-2010 06:23 AM
DAE Error 9031, 9019, 9073 on Pro tools M-powered rico1234 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 12-12-2009 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com