Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2009, 09:50 AM
soundsurfr soundsurfr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Smithtown, NY, USA
Posts: 965
Default Pre-roll enable not working in PT8

Anybody have this problem? Just upgraded to PT8 and can't get pre-roll to work when enabling in the transport. Is there a setting I need to change?
__________________
Soundsurfr
MAC Mini, 2.3GHz dual-core i5, 8GB DDR3, 500GB Hard drive, 288MB DDR3 SD RAM
M-Audio Firewire 1814
Yosemite OS
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2009, 10:22 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: Pre-roll enable not working in PT8

Its working fine for me. The only thing I see is if I try to use a 2 bar pre-roll with my cursor set at 0:00:000, it starts right there as there is no time line for it to pre-roll with. When you enter the amount of pre-roll, are you hitting the enter key?(you need to)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2009, 11:39 AM
soundsurfr soundsurfr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Smithtown, NY, USA
Posts: 965
Default Re: Pre-roll enable not working in PT8

Thanks, but I've got the number of measure in and the pre-roll bar enabled (it's lit). It should pre-roll and it won't - not in play or record mode. Argggh.
__________________
Soundsurfr
MAC Mini, 2.3GHz dual-core i5, 8GB DDR3, 500GB Hard drive, 288MB DDR3 SD RAM
M-Audio Firewire 1814
Yosemite OS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2009, 11:42 AM
cneal92's Avatar
cneal92 cneal92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lubbock, TX USA
Posts: 530
Default Re: Pre-roll enable not working in PT8

I think you may have Dynamic Transport turned on. Turn it off and the pre-/post-roll will work.
__________________
Chris Neal :: South Plains College
.: Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor in Sound Technology
.: cneal@southplainscollege.edu
.: Pro Tools Certified Instructor
.: Pro Tools Expert Certified in Music
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2009, 02:02 PM
soundsurfr soundsurfr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Smithtown, NY, USA
Posts: 965
Default Re: Pre-roll enable not working in PT8

That was the fix my friend. Thank you very much.

Soundsurfr
__________________
Soundsurfr
MAC Mini, 2.3GHz dual-core i5, 8GB DDR3, 500GB Hard drive, 288MB DDR3 SD RAM
M-Audio Firewire 1814
Yosemite OS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2010, 06:46 PM
jamesy jamesy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: St. Augustine
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pre-roll enable not working in PT8

How do I turn off dynamic transport? What is dynamic transport?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2011, 11:34 AM
Reesho Reesho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Setauket, NY, USA
Posts: 81
Default Re: Pre-roll enable not working in PT8

Quote:
Originally Posted by cneal92 View Post
I think you may have Dynamic Transport turned on. Turn it off and the pre-/post-roll will work.
THANK YOU!!! It would be nice if they said this in thenPre-roll section of the PT Reference Guide. MAYBE I could of guessed at an indirect reference in "Recording In Dynamic Transport Mode".
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.8 Ghz Dual Quad-Core Intel Xeon
14 GB Ram
OSX 10.6.8
PTLE 8.0.5
Digi 002R
Midi Controller =M-Audio Axiom 49/USB2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-Roll / Post-Roll - Not working! geelo Pro Tools 9 12 07-30-2016 12:02 PM
Any shortcut to enable/disable pre-roll in transport? Zarabozo Pro Tools 10 2 01-11-2014 01:21 AM
Enable Pre-Roll Keyboard Shortcut? markus44uk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-21-2010 03:37 PM
Pre roll not working 2hip2b4real Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 03-19-2010 05:54 PM
Pre roll not working. Blank Frank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-25-2009 08:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com