Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 04-29-2005, 08:16 PM

Default MIDI off the sound card in Pro Tools?

Hi. Newbie here.

I've got an Mbox and Pro Tools LE 6.7
Is there any way to use a MIDI instrument from off my sound card in Pro Tools?

I mean using Pro Tools to map the MIDI track (Enter in the notes), and have the audio for this MIDI come out THROUGH PRO TOOLS, NOT from my computer? And turn it into a usable track?

Sorry if I haven't explained myself very well, I'm still struggling to understand this stuff.

Thanks!
Old 04-30-2005, 01:35 AM

Default Re: MIDI off the sound card in Pro Tools?

Hi there..

I'm a newbie too with a mbox and protools 6.7LE.
I don't quite understand your question.. do you just wanna record midi into protools?
Old 04-30-2005, 06:05 AM

Hi
First thing to realise is that MIDI is a data stream, not an audio stream. In other words you need to send the midi data to a synth or other midi sound source to get audio.

Yes you can do it all in PT. If you have a keyboard synth, connect midi out on synth to midi in on the MBox and midi out of the MBox to midi in of the synth. In PT, create a new midi track and have its input set to ALL. Set the track output to whatever midi channel you want to transmit on, say 1. Hit record enable and play the keyboard - you'll see the midi data coming in on the channel meter, but you won't hear audio yet.

Create a new mono or stereo aux or audio track. Connect your synth out/s to the ins on the MBox. On the aux / audio channel select the same inputs and route the outs to the master fader or monitor outs.

You can now record midi and have the audio played back or recorded.
Old 04-30-2005, 10:46 AM