Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:13 PM
maxpidgee maxpidgee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 142
Default i broke the #1 rule tonight...

tonight i did a 3 1/2 hr recording 16 tracks to pro tools 7.4 on a macbook pro 2.33ghz 2g's of ram.... and accidently recorded to my system hard drive instead of my external....


not one single glitch.....

so i'm wondering, i know your not supposed to but now it has me wondering...

since i do alot of live gigs, i'm only writing to disk not reading and writing, what can go wrong??, any personal experiences???

it would be nice to have one less thing to hall out to gigs (i.e. harddrive)
__________________
www.myspace.com/maxpidge
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:43 PM
@ndy's Avatar
@ndy @ndy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 368
Default Re: i broke the #1 rule tonight...

I think you got lucky! You must have a good install on that machine with no buggy 3rd party plugs in your plugin folder. Maybe with a high buffer and all background apps disabled you could get away with it again. However, they make buss powered external hard drives that are no bigger than your power supply for your laptop. So, I don't think it's really worth the risk.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OS 10.8.4, 003R, PT10.3.4, Midi I/O and late 08 15" Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, OS 10.8.4, Mbox2, PT10.3.4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:45 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: i broke the #1 rule tonight...

Worst case I have seen is Pro Tools locks up during record and over-wrights the System Folder killing the OS/Computer. I had to wipe the drive to reinstall the OS. The system owner lost everything that was not backed up notably what he was recording at the time.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:50 PM
maxpidgee maxpidgee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 142
Default Re: i broke the #1 rule tonight...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
Worst case I have seen is Pro Tools locks up during record and over-wrights the System Folder killing the OS/Computer. I had to wipe the drive to reinstall the OS. The system owner lost everything that was not backed up notably what he was recording at the time.
kinda what i figured... oh well it was a nice pipe dream...
__________________
www.myspace.com/maxpidge
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:56 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: i broke the #1 rule tonight...

I'm not saying it will just that it could happen
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2009, 01:51 AM
Jamtime Jamtime is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 240
Default Re: i broke the #1 rule tonight...

Not recommended but I do it all the time on my Macbook with no trackcount limits and never had a problem. 60 % discload at 48 stereo tracks! =D

PT ha always worked very well for me in almost any configuration. I must be lucky!
__________________
I voted at www.deardigi.com

Drummer of Yamaha Birch Absolute Custom Nouveau Vintage Natural - Zildjian K Custom Dark - Sabian HH

Macbook (2009-01) 2.0 GHz 4 GB
Intel Quad (2007-07) Q6600 2x250 4 GB
PT 8
Digirack 002
Monitors: JM-Lab Electra 906 & SW900 driven with Pioneer Reference M-90

"Semiprofessional user"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-05-2009, 02:46 AM
nod25 nod25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: BrisVegas, AUS
Posts: 1,013
Smile Re: i broke the #1 rule tonight...

Interesting thread!
__________________

--------------------------------------------------


Why do people keep running over a string a dozen times with their vacuum cleaner, then reach down, pick it up, examine it, then put it down to give the vacuum one more chance?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-05-2009, 04:01 AM
pezking pezking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 266
Default Re: i broke the #1 rule tonight...

I think it will shorten the life of your disc...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-05-2009, 04:06 AM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,630
Default Re: i broke the #1 rule tonight...

Rule 1 of Pro Tools, you do not talk about Pro Tools

guess we ALL broke that one.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-05-2009, 04:25 AM
Darney Darney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Terre Haute
Posts: 408
Default Re: i broke the #1 rule tonight...

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxpidgee View Post
tonight i did a 3 1/2 hr recording 16 tracks to pro tools 7.4 on a macbook pro 2.33ghz 2g's of ram.... and accidently recorded to my system hard drive instead of my external....


not one single glitch.....

so i'm wondering, i know your not supposed to but now it has me wondering...

since i do alot of live gigs, i'm only writing to disk not reading and writing, what can go wrong??, any personal experiences???

it would be nice to have one less thing to hall out to gigs (i.e. harddrive)
The primary reason beyond what's already been given is that your system hard drive is used as virtual ram - so data is constantly being written/read from it as different components of the OS and applications, cache files, etc. are being loaded and executed. Writing audio files concurrently causes LOTS of extra work for the hard drive and if you're doing anything in video, dropped frames will result. In audio, same thing can happen. It's far more efficient to use an external hard drive and takes the work load off of your system drive.
That being said, I've recorded to the system drive several times when I've forgotten to change the save file location. And with no problems.. but as always, much better to be safe than sorry.
__________________
“What fresh hell is this?” - Dorothy S. Parker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One PT9 to rule them all? dgkenney Pro Tools 9 5 11-06-2010 11:46 AM
New Jobs RULE!!!!! basschair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-25-2004 11:30 PM
3:1 rule and X/Y configuration John Link General Discussion 5 03-15-2004 03:13 AM
3:1 Rule - Need Clarification rockrev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-23-2003 11:19 AM
OK........So I broke a rule.......who's rule? Wayne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 36 10-09-2002 11:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com