Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2008, 10:15 PM
twig twig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 148
Default can i use a guitar pedal as a preamp?

im using a mesa power amp i need to have as a spare rig but have no "pre amp". i have an inexpensive Art tube mp studio DI/mic pre , and a few quality dist stomp box. the combination set up actually sounds great but was wondering what qualifies as a true preamp and what signal it sends to the power amp(-10db or +4). i looked for different threads but no luck. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2008, 12:54 AM
twig twig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 148
Default Re: can i use a guitar pedal as a preamp?

bump
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2008, 02:11 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: can i use a guitar pedal as a preamp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by twig View Post
bump
I would go Tube Preamp>Overdrive>Power amp. I think its important to have a tube in the first gain stage. If you play flat out and never use your volume knob then you may prefer Overdrive>Tube Pre> Power amp.

As too whats the right order.....You have "X" number of boxes-use whatever combination sounds the best.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2008, 12:43 PM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Re: can i use a guitar pedal as a preamp?

I'm confused as to the nature of this post. If you are looking for basic guitar setup advice you are on the wrong website.

If you are asking if you can use a guitar peddle tube pre as a pre-amp for a microphone....

In theory you could, if you frankenstined some cables together, but mic cables are balanced and instrument cables are not, plug they operate at totally different impendance and levels. But hey, if you make it work and get some interesting sounds, well that would be worth posting with some links to the pictures and a sound sample.

In reality, whatever gets the job done gets the job done, it may not be the best sounding job.
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2008, 03:38 PM
twig twig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 148
Default Re: can i use a guitar pedal as a preamp?

the wrong site? never! i wanted true gear heads opinion about a signal chain and some technical advice and knowledge which is why i trust most of the members here more than gearslutz and guitar forums.....people here seem to be more versed with gear being studio owners and former techs. im no noob and i value the opinions here more than any site. my view....the more engineers, the more combinations they have put together in studios, ...... guitar heads only tell me to buy new gear.. also, my intention was never running vox through the pedal.....it was for guitar.... cheers and thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2008, 09:37 PM
Barnabas Barnabas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 966
Default Re: can i use a guitar pedal as a preamp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by twig View Post
the combination set up actually sounds great but was wondering what qualifies as a true preamp and what signal it sends to the power amp(-10db or +4). i looked for different threads but no luck. thanks
-10db or +4 depends on the preamp. If you have XLR connectors or TRS, it is probably +4. If it has mono 1/4" connectors, then it's probably -10. One of my preamps with XLR connector is +0 output, which is similar to +4, but at a lower level.
__________________
www.barnabas.com Barnabas MultiMedia
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2008, 12:42 AM
twig twig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 148
Default Re: can i use a guitar pedal as a preamp?

ahhhh finally , thank you .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VI for Pedal Steel Guitar YYR123 Virtual Instruments 2 06-13-2012 10:02 AM
GT-10 Guitar Pedal & Patches DNEW32 Eleven Rack 2 08-08-2011 10:12 PM
Using guitar pedal in 002 willl3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-20-2011 07:22 PM
guitar pedal as insert. Bookerv12 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-12-2007 03:09 PM
Can I use a guitar pedal into mbox2pro's DI? cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 12-11-2006 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com