Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2009, 02:15 PM
jimfisheye jimfisheye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Default Phase aligning 2 sources

Is there a new plug out there that can help with phase aligning 2 sources? I have 2 digital transfers of the same original analog source. I want to matrix them (long story but if you really want to know...). I estimate this taking far too many hours with Serato Pitch n Time - although it's quite possible. Anyone heard of a plug that can automate some of this? The phase alignment really has to be perfect for this to work of course (see flanging techniques).
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2009, 02:36 PM
Roland Clarke Roland Clarke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 210
Default Re: Phase aligning 2 sources

I would say if they are an analogue source you ain't going to get even close. I would be interested to hear your long story, what is it that you are trying to achieve?

Regards


Roland
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2009, 03:42 PM
jimfisheye jimfisheye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Default Re: Phase aligning 2 sources

Mastering project. A cassette was transfered to DAT tape twice. Once as expected - consumer cassette to DAT. Later, a second transfer with the lows rolled off and the remainder compressed (all in analog) in an effort to get some bit depth to the far away upper mids/highs.

2 DATs each with their merits
analog source is long MIA

The brief moments I've lined up sound really good but it takes way too long.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2009, 04:06 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,635
Default Re: Phase aligning 2 sources

I think what you're attempting is a lost cause - there are far, far too many opportunities for phase misalignment, especially given it's tape you were working from originally. Head alignment during playback, tape stretch, oxide degradation - really, you're better off using whichever tape transfer that sounds best and working off that.

Now, if someone can come and refute this, I would like to know what they're doing, because it's going to be something extra special.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2009, 05:58 AM
Muzoid Muzoid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: southeast VT
Posts: 525
Default Re: Phase aligning 2 sources

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimfisheye View Post
Mastering project. A cassette was transfered to DAT tape twice. Once as expected - consumer cassette to DAT. Later, a second transfer with the lows rolled off and the remainder compressed (all in analog) in an effort to get some bit depth to the far away upper mids/highs.

2 DATs each with their merits
analog source is long MIA

The brief moments I've lined up sound really good but it takes way too long.

I would re-transfer the cassette directly to Pro Tools through the best converter you can get your hands on at 24-bit, or alternatively transfer the DAT recording that is full-frequency into a 24-bit session. At that point you can, mult it, or copy to multiple tracks and try various processing in an effort to get whatever results you are looking for and using ADC, you will stay phase aligned.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2009, 02:22 PM
Roland Clarke Roland Clarke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 210
Default Re: Phase aligning 2 sources

I have to say I wouldn't waste my time, I can't think for a second that you would get anywhere close to phase alignment. I would almost certainly forget the version with the low frequency roll off and compression, it's likely the noise floor is significantly worse than before. Start with the original naked version, digitize it, apply noise reduction to it, then a bit of gentle mastering to adjust for frequency balance and produce a pleasing "loudness".

Although I'm a Pro-tools user, I would suggest that a mastering system such as Pyramix, Sadie or even Sequioa, might be a better choice for this kind of work. I have Pyramix as well as Pro-tools and I would say it would be easier to do it on that.

Regards


Roland
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2009, 06:45 PM
Barnabas Barnabas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 966
Default Re: Phase aligning 2 sources

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimfisheye View Post
analog source is long MIA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzoid View Post
I would re-transfer the cassette directly to Pro Tools
__________________
www.barnabas.com Barnabas MultiMedia
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2009, 10:15 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: Phase aligning 2 sources

I would take the DAT that was a straight transfer and import/record it into Pro Tools. Then duplicate it and apply similar treatment as was done to the second DAT version. This should solve the alignment issue. I hear the message that some have sent saying just forget it or walk away from it, but I also understand that you may have perfectly good reasons why you want or need to tackle it, so good luck.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phase aligning plug-in Farmer Dave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-05-2011 11:15 AM
Tips for aligning phase? Farmer Dave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 10-29-2007 12:40 PM
phase aligning drum tracks timmygrimm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-25-2002 01:17 AM
Please help w/ aligning flown in tracks jpoprock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 07-10-2002 01:40 AM
Aligning guides? bassmac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-14-2000 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com