Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-11-2016, 10:13 AM
rantanplan rantanplan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Berlin
Posts: 155
Default Re: Quicksilver G4 has become self aware....

Is the CMOS battery still ok? I remember that I had a lot of issues with this generation of Macs when the battery was low/empty.

Regards,
Till
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-11-2016, 11:11 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,320
Default Re: Quicksilver G4 has become self aware....

Battery was recently replaced. I just bought a parts machine that didn't have any drives in it. If the parts G4 boots up, I am going to try swapping components to see if I can figure out what's wrong.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-21-2019, 10:35 AM
makinworks makinworks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7
Default Re: Quicksilver G4 has become self aware....

When my g4 did that it took about three years before the power supply went out.
I was told by appke care they were confused. I got ticked and hungup. Apple care was new and so was my g4. But i just pull the power cable after shutdown. That was my routine until it started arcing.
So i would ask apple techs about this power supply issue. It might he the same hardware b g i had in 2003


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-21-2019, 10:36 AM
makinworks makinworks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7
Default Re: Quicksilver G4 has become self aware....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhappy1997 View Post
Another friend had the same problem and it was the motherboard so Hopefully yours will be ok now!


Yrs mije was motherboard not power supply like i said b4 by mistake. What a bummer i didnt recall appke care as a g4 new shouldnt do it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Be aware - Spyware scam! abre Pro Tools 10 1 11-08-2012 12:57 PM
001 --> 002. Things to be aware of... OgnKog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-11-2002 03:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com