Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2014, 11:06 AM
rcd rcd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 96
Default Which to buy, PT Native vs HDX? - I Need Input Monitoring

Do the newest PT Native cards allow track input monitoring and Insert and Plugin monitoring while track is playing and not recording?
I always configure (mix) my guitar's signal while the track is playing in PT HD(TDM) and need to be able to hear the effects of the track Inserts (outboard gear) and Plugs so what I'm changing on the guitar and amp settings are in context to what the mix will ultimately be.

Will the newest Native card allow these to be heard on track playback? If not, could you explain which can't be heard, Inserts? Plugin? The actual Track?
If I upgrade, will really have to fork out another $3000 for HDX instead of Native to continue working like I do in TDM?

Any other options to upgrade PT while keeping the ability to hear everything on the way in during playback? I just bought a new HD 16x16 and want to get to 64 bit in PT11.

Thanks!
Rich
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2014, 12:39 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,170
Default Re: Which to buy, PT Native vs HDX? - I Need Input Monitoring

All you REALLY need for per-track input monitoring is HD software. It works with almost ANY hardware(I ran HD for the last 2 years with my 003 and used that feature plenty). I have since moved to HD/Native with HD IO boxes and am absolutely enjoying the upgrade
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2014, 08:00 AM
rcd rcd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 96
Default Re: Which to buy, PT Native vs HDX? - I Need Input Monitoring

Will PT 11 HD work with the newest Native card?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2014, 08:59 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,882
Default Re: Which to buy, PT Native vs HDX? - I Need Input Monitoring

yes
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 HD Native Input Monitoring Glitch Asar macOS 15 07-13-2014 06:44 AM
Does HD native or native native disable plugins when monitoring inputs? BasketCase Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 05-20-2013 08:48 AM
Input monitoring IN HDX/Native or Complete Production Toolkit txshonk Pro Tools 10 18 04-30-2012 06:32 PM
Input only monitoring in PT9 Native koo_koo_bonkers Post - Surround - Video 6 04-04-2011 08:02 PM
Auto Input monitoring / Input only monitoring - Alt+K AdamPT8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-09-2010 10:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com