Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2015, 11:20 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default ProTools 12HD licensing details - plain and simple

OK AVID...

Today you announced a new Sibelius (not released yet) with ALL the licensing options clearly spelled out. That's great - and the way its should be!!

So PTHD licensing change has been announced since Oct 10, 2014 and You have even released PT12HD - ALL without giving us these details. I am a 17 year HD owner and I find this behavior by you unprecedented and bizarre!

PLEASE --- just publish these details. Or give us a darned good reason why you are selling a product without revealing them.

(PS - I promise this is the last thread I will start on this !
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2015, 11:37 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: ProTools 12HD licensing details - plain and simple

* If you buy a HD system/software today you get v.12
you DO NOT get a Support Plan with HD systems/software

* if you want a a Support Plan the cost is $599.00 per year

* There are NO annual or monthly subscriptions for HD software

That's pretty darn simple to me.
FWIW this info was posted by Avid in FAQ Licensing section.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2015, 12:16 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: ProTools 12HD licensing details - plain and simple

But what happens to an expired plan?? Or what if you don't buy a support plan before the end of 2015? Can you ever get on one in 2016 (or beyond) or is your license frozen - non-upgradeable? Do you have to buy a new HD system to get the latest software in that case???

Can you sell and transfer a PTHD system with an expired plan (or no plan)? Does the new owner get a shot at getting on a support plan if the system he bought didn't have one?

They say there will be flexible licensing options (plural no less!) for HD in the FAQ section - so what are they?

Will HD be available for sale without hardware? If so at what price? And who would be eligible?

Will there really be no subscription options?

These questions have been asked over and over since October.

...

From PT12 Licensing FAQ
Q: If my Pro Tools | HD Software upgrade/support plan expires and I want to upgrade later on, what are my options?
A: Pro Tools | HD Software customers will have the option to get on an upgrade/support plan through the end of 2015. Before that period ends we will release new flexible licensing options for Pro Tools | HD Software.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...2014-Offer-FAQ
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html

Last edited by propower; 04-12-2015 at 11:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2015, 01:51 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,166
Default Re: ProTools 12HD licensing details - plain and simple

There can only be one reason IMO why a) the information provided so far is so vague, and b) Avid is taking so long to publish the details ... we're not going to like it!

What's the worst that could happen ...

1) If you don't get on a support plan or later let it expire, have no option to get a perpetual license and a support plan for it without buying new hardware,
2) Licenses get frozen at their current version if you let the situation described in item 1 occur, just like for 'vanilla',
3) Provide a subscription option for people who let the situation in item 1 occur, but only for those with properly registered hardware, to kill off the 2nd hand market in hardware except for people willing to forever remain stuck on an old software version too (those people were never going to buy new Avid HD hardware anyway),
4) Do not allow HD license transfers once on a support plan, permanently,
5) HD support plan costs go up each year to account for inflation, rising costs of providing support, need for more profit, etc. etc. ... the question is, by how much ... $10 (unlikely), $50 (not unreasonable), $100 (tempting?),
6) Subscription costs go up each year by a similar percentage.

Have I missed anything? If so, feel free to add to the list ;-)

And what's the best case .... (aligned to resolve items 1-6 above)

1) Let HD software owners get back on a support plan at minimal cost, because they deserve special treatment,
2) Best case item one resolves worst case item 2 as well,
3) Subscription costs are broadly line with those for 'vanilla', or perhaps broadly in line with the support plan price differential, so three times the cost of vanilla as a maximum,
4) Allow license transfers,
5) Any increases in support plan costs are some way off, and will be of a minimal / nominal amount, 'nothing' in the scheme of things,
6) As per item best case item 5 for subscriptions too.

Now let's wait to see whether the deal, once revealed, is closer to best case or worst case! I know where my bet would be placed.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.14.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite OctopreLE and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad Silver with Thunderbolt card, Apollo x4 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2020.3, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 10, Logic Pro X 10.4.8, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2015, 07:01 AM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 917
Default Re: ProTools 12HD licensing details - plain and simple

I sure would like to know as well.

Buying new hardware to upgrade would be absurd. Surely they wont punish us for spending thousands on their hardware. Or will they?

Come on avid lets hear it. I got cubase downloaded an installed.just waiting to see if im keeping my hardware or not.!

I want to stay but this will decide.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2015, 07:17 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 801
Default Re: ProTools 12HD licensing details - plain and simple

fuggetabowdit. You're just a fart in a hurricane. The execs are still on their 'pink cloud', pun intended, from the salary raises and bonuses recently acquired. On top of that the compensation going forward is directly tied to the amount of subscriptions engaged. They clearly have every reason to get every HD owner on subscription. We are the classic 'captive audience'. Having said that, I hope after NAB something will dribble forth.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2015, 08:04 AM
Wall2Wall Wall2Wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Starling City
Posts: 766
Default Re: ProTools 12HD licensing details - plain and simple

Best case:

Since they are following the Media Composer model, which has been successful, it is possible they will decouple the hardware from the software. The delay could be to clear out current I/O stock before announcing a software only HD sub plan.

I'm sure of one fact. Constantly asking Avid to reveal their plans before they are ready is futile.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2015, 10:39 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: ProTools 12HD licensing details - plain and simple

Though I certainly ask in threads aimed at this - this thread is the second I have started. One in November - one now. Although persistent I would not call my comments and questions at all constant, unreasonable or rude even.

BTW - on the day I posted this it was the 6 month anniversary of the the new licensing. A half a year and we still don't have a straight answer. I find that unprecedented.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-2015, 10:50 AM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 399
Default Re: ProTools 12HD licensing details - plain and simple

same feeling here
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2020.11, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gig ram 10.14 mojave, . TBlt UA Apollo16 all SSD's [samsungpro],
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2015, 11:46 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: ProTools 12HD licensing details - plain and simple

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
But what happens to an expired plan?? Or what if you don't buy a support plan before the end of 2015?
If you have an expired HD support plan - the cost will be $899.00 instead of $599.
Though this is NOT official it may end up as $599 - Avid will announce final 2016.

Avid is NOT going to let HD hardware owners twist
Why speculate about something that may or may not happened what if you are buying a HDX card today Avid my drop the price in 2016….
worrying about something that is NOT official is waste of time

As of Today it's $599.00 and that is the official upgrade price for HD 9/10/11.
And is 2016 it's still going to be $599.00
Nothing is going to change until they change it - get it.
It''s seem very straight forward CLEAR and CONCISE to me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 12HD does not see Intensity Pro esparza audio Pro Tools 12 1 04-05-2015 01:47 PM
Pro Tools 12HD download mess echomagic Pro Tools 12 39 03-23-2015 04:31 PM
Cut off date for free 12HD upgrade? michael c Pro Tools 12 6 01-29-2015 06:02 PM
plain and simple WHERE ARE my PLUGINS? dafatboy Windows 6 02-10-2011 03:24 AM
I can't Record plain and simple breezed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 06-11-2009 11:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com