Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #111  
Old 03-02-2015, 09:07 AM
paul007 paul007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 63
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaudio View Post
"Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 8am-5pm PST
Friday 8am-4pm PST"

Pretty small window of support wouldn't you say? So when "buying" a support plan, this is the window you get?
For my time zone this simply means no immediate support during local business hours.

So the support plan won't solve any critical downtime...
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 03-02-2015, 09:17 AM
froyo froyo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,863
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Hello. If you see post # 113 in this thread jeffro from Avid points out that support for Pro Tools HD, the people that pay $599, is 24 x 7. In that post he points out that the other people those hours apply to they are considering changing some of that, so it bears watching.
__________________
froyo
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 03-02-2015, 09:59 AM
paul007 paul007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 63
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Ah! OK
Missed that in the cacophony.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 03-02-2015, 04:10 PM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrimsonBetrayal View Post
Doesn't change the fact that for non-HD users who don't live in the US, the phone support is basically useless to them...
There are localized office hours for the Americas, Europe, and Asia/Pacific.

The hours of operation for worldwide phone support for customers not on a 24/7 plan like the PTHD ExpertPlus plan are in the Support section of the Avid website:
Support >
Contact Support

Asia
Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday 10am-5pm JST

That would be one hour ahead of you I think, so 9am-4pm in eastern Australia.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 03-02-2015, 09:14 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Regarding the end date originally stated for PT11 bug fixes - we reviewed this with Product Management and agreed that it should continue beyond the end of 2015, so the Pro Tools Licensing FAQ has been updated to reflect this.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 03-02-2015, 09:25 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Regarding the end date originally stated for PT11 bug fixes - we reviewed this with Product Management and agreed that it should continue beyond the end of 2015, so the Pro Tools Licensing FAQ has been updated to reflect this.

Victory
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 03-02-2015, 09:33 PM
JacksonRR1 JacksonRR1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 44
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Regarding the end date originally stated for PT11 bug fixes - we reviewed this with Product Management and agreed that it should continue beyond the end of 2015, so the Pro Tools Licensing FAQ has been updated to reflect this.
Good news! Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 03-02-2015, 10:34 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,793
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArKay99 View Post
One reason, at this point in time anyway, is if Thunderbolt is attractive to you, as a lot of interface gear currently has that as it's primary comm I/F. It's only available and working well on newer Macs. --- Not trying to hijack this important thread...
There are plenty of PC's with a Thunderbolt, including ours at Pro Tools PC. HD Native Thunderbolt works great on a PC and the new Focusrite Clarret are supposed to ship w Windows TB support. Other devs are behind but they will be coming.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 03-03-2015, 06:03 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 801
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
There are plenty of PC's with a Thunderbolt, including ours at Pro Tools PC. HD Native Thunderbolt works great on a PC and the new Focusrite Clarret are supposed to ship w Windows TB support. Other devs are behind but they will be coming.
This is great news. I've seen mobo's by Asus and Gigabyte with headers and they make an add in card. I was under the impression that Windows support (unified driver) was lacking at this point and solutions were the 3rd party's responsibility. Again, not trying to hijack the thread, if you have the time, could you give me a link or 2? Even a PM. I'll check out the Clarret.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 03-03-2015, 06:44 PM
adogg4629 adogg4629 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 45
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Upgrade and Support Plans ...so we have included contact via phone and web in these plans for the same 12 months...
Am I correct to understand from this that non-avid qualified systems that Avid won't support will still have to buy support to get upgrades?

AD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com