Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2019, 04:47 PM
Thenewexhibit Thenewexhibit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 330
Default Midi note duration

Is there a way to change the midi note duration to basically fill the gap until the next midi note? I know I can manually do it, but I figured there was an automatic command of some sort that takes the guess work out of it?

I converted audio to midi with melodyne for a bass guitar track to change the tone, and there are a handful of gaps, but I want to keep the timing and not meticulously zoom in to every gap and make sure they're lined up. Any easy automatic way? I feel Like I've found it before, but can't right now.

Thanks, and God bless!

Mike.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2019, 06:06 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,643
Default Re: Midi note duration

I don't know how to do what you're asking about. However with some vi basses like the Scarbee Rick Bass in NI's Kontakt it might interpret notes running together without gap as a slide from one note to the other or something else unwanted.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2019, 08:54 PM
Thenewexhibit Thenewexhibit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 330
Default Re: Midi note duration

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I don't know how to do what you're asking about. However with some vi basses like the Scarbee Rick Bass in NI's Kontakt it might interpret notes running together without gap as a slide from one note to the other or something else unwanted.
Got ya! I'm using IK Modo Bass. Thanks for the reply!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2019, 08:57 PM
Thenewexhibit Thenewexhibit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 330
Default Re: Midi note duration

Is anybody familiar with this? I feel like there should be a way to achieve this easily in Pro Tools.

One thing I would love to do too is randomize the midi notes ever so slightly to make a more human feel, BUT, that's where the fill in gaps would come in handy, and I feel like Pro Tools should be able to fill midi gaps in some way to the next note start. Anybody know?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2019, 07:34 PM
Thenewexhibit Thenewexhibit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 330
Default Re: Midi note duration

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do u extend Midi note duration in PT9? Metallicamasta Pro Tools 9 5 06-23-2011 10:01 AM
8.0.4 MIDI note duration change when editing Shanti Monkey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-27-2010 02:56 AM
Changing the midi note duration rbon MIDI 5 05-13-2008 04:11 AM
Changing MIDI Note Duration - Need Help Please JCWarrior 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-20-2007 10:47 AM
Change tempo without adjusting midi note duration Janiak Tips & Tricks 6 09-03-2004 03:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com