Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2018, 07:25 PM
gthm gthm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 110
Default Mac Antivirus software and Pro Tools?

Does anyone use antivirus software on their Mac? Throughout the years I've heard it is not recommended, I know, but my latest obsession is that I need antivirus software.

Can I run antivirus software (Sophos or Avast) on my 2014 iMac (macOS High Sierra) and maybe disable it when I want to open Pro Tools? Or it doesn't work like that?

Please let me know!

Thanks_
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.10
Mac OS 10.13.3
iMac (Retina 5K, 27", late 2014)
(4.0GHz i7, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD internal)
Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2018, 06:48 PM
gthm gthm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 110
Default Re: Mac Antivirus software and Pro Tools?

Hey guys,

No Mac users are worried about potential viruses?
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.10
Mac OS 10.13.3
iMac (Retina 5K, 27", late 2014)
(4.0GHz i7, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD internal)
Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2018, 06:59 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Mac Antivirus software and Pro Tools?

No. You are wasting your time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2018, 07:19 PM
gthm gthm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 110
Default Re: Mac Antivirus software and Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
No. You are wasting your time.
That's a relief to hear actually! Thanks Darryl!

My Earthlink.net email (have had this for 15 years almost) was hacked so i was afraid my Mac had been infected or something. Apparently Earthlink's accounts are frequently hacked. First time for me though.

Should I worry my Mac has been compromised further than just the hacker knowing my email password?

I changed my password already and will be getting a Gmail account instead.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.10
Mac OS 10.13.3
iMac (Retina 5K, 27", late 2014)
(4.0GHz i7, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD internal)
Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2018, 07:34 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Mac Antivirus software and Pro Tools?

Your EarthLink.net email had the same password as your Mac user, or worse as an administrator account?

You clicked on attachments or unsafe links in hacked email?

You disclosed Mac passwords in plain text email?

If not we’ll then bad things should not happen... and those bad things if you did them all fall into dumb wetware problems, AV software will typically not really help protect you there. Or not worth the hassle.

AV software also does not protect you from zero day exploits.

Things you should do...

Be careful what you and other users do. Downloads, installing apps etc. phishing email, etc.
Use a password manager, and use unique, crypto secure, passwords everywhere.
Use a firewall or air gap the computer
Make a rotating set of bootable backups
Get email and other productivity apps off critical DAW computers
Use gmail for its really great anti-spam, anti-malware security features (like you are going to).
Keep the macOS software updated (which yes conflicts with keeping it stable for Pro Tools).
If a Pro Studio, control who connects what and how content gets in/off the computer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-10-2018, 05:29 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,236
Default Re: Mac Antivirus software and Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gthm View Post
Hey guys,

No Mac users are worried about potential viruses?
I've been using ClamXAV for some time now and it's not been a problem. It's not free but it's quite good and stays out of the way of PT or any other daw you run. Nice thing with the current V3 engine is you can scan all your drives at one time.

Do note that I'm not a huge fan of having my daw online but there are times I have to. I have a separate Mac for email, web surfing and Photoshop work but there's no harm in doing that on your daw computer as long as you don't do stupid stuff.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antivirus software recommendation? CharlesWright1579 General Discussion 20 07-26-2016 06:51 AM
Is your PC/DAW connected to the Net, running antivirus software? Tubthumper Pro Tools Software (Win) 17 01-07-2014 08:52 PM
Could anyone recommend an antivirus software kbruff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 08-24-2009 01:44 PM
Antivirus software and Protools cinetj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 24 01-08-2009 11:59 PM
antivirus software OK with Pro-Tools? TMS Tips & Tricks 3 10-15-1999 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com