Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2018, 08:29 PM
Acousticwarrior Acousticwarrior is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Nashville
Posts: 7
Default Virtual SC levels on Pro Tools

Guys, need some guidance/assistance for an issue I have not encountered before.

Set up: 4 x S16 stageboxes, 2 x S3L-X systems ( 4.6.1.4), 2 x Macbook with Pro-Tools ( Yosemite Pro Tools 12.4 at FOH, El Capitain PT 11.3.1) 2 x production toolkit

Issue: Both systems record fine, all 64 tracks. Mon rig plays back at exact same gain level, when switched over to mic input mode. System at FOH for some reason records at about 15 db lower level overall on all channels. All settings at SL3-x seem to be like we have used them on many shows with other engines before ( this rig is a touring rental), so this might be an issue? Is there an overall level adjustment of AVB stream I do not know if? Any hints/ ideas, as this renders virtual SC completely useless for me. Any comments would be appreciated.

Last edited by Acousticwarrior; 11-05-2018 at 11:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2018, 08:45 AM
emluper emluper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 463
Default Re: Virtual SC levels on Pro Tools

Sounds to me like the metering on the FOH console is set to Peak and the Mon console is set to RMS. I would double check that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2018, 10:42 AM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 274
Default Re: Virtual SC levels on Pro Tools

The recording on an IO shared system is straight off the head amps, a proper redundant recording. This means the gains that are recorded are the gains set by the master of the stage boxes. So if your MON engineer is master, and your MON gains are set 15dB down from FOH gains, then your playback will be 15dB down at FOH, the simplest way to get around this is to set your fader levels in PT to match the difference in gain between MON and FOH...
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2018, 11:41 AM
Acousticwarrior Acousticwarrior is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Nashville
Posts: 7
Default Re: Virtual SC levels on Pro Tools

Ryan, understand, is there a way to circumvent by recording the direct outs instead for virtual SC? As there is an output gain available. And how would This need to be set up. All meters RMS at any piece of equipment by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2018, 09:35 AM
emluper emluper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 463
Default Re: Virtual SC levels on Pro Tools

You can use the Direct Outs page in the Patchbay to assign the DO's to Pro Tools. If you're using it primarily for VSC make sure you have the individual direct outs set for Top of Channel (set in the Patchbay), otherwise you'll be recording all of your eq, compression, expansion, and any plug-ins to Pro Tools. Also, the max gain on the direct output is 12dB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
suggested levels for all MIDI volumes in a Virtual Instrument. aeide Virtual Instruments 7 08-10-2017 05:33 AM
Help! Pro Tools FCP CD Levels moblues Post - Surround - Video 8 01-05-2009 11:18 PM
levels within pro tools? weezerboy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-22-2006 05:07 PM
Levels in Pro Tools WRX07 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-17-2005 06:03 PM
LEVELS IN PRO-TOOLS 5.1 MR. BLISS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-01-2004 04:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com