Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2011, 09:34 AM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 404
Default Problem trying to record Moog Slim Phatty

Hi,

I am trying to record my Moog Slim Phatty but am running into some problems. When I am not recording (but the audio track is record-armed), I can hear the Moog sounds just fine on the audio track when I play a MIDI track that is routed to the Moog. However, when I try to record, nothing comes out of the Moog for some reason (I have the MIDI track record enabled as well since I use my keyboard to play in the part to that track). It works fine in Logic, so I think there is something I'm missing in the PT configuration.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2011, 09:56 AM
RegenerationMix RegenerationMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 752
Default Re: Problem trying to record Moog Slim Phatty

when pro tools is open, under the Track menu, select input only monitoring.

I think that is the setting.

Chris
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/RegenerationMix

http://soundcloud.com/regenerationmix

http://twitter.com/regenerationmix


MacBook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 16GB, Intel Core i7, Mac OS 10.9.1 128 SSD internal HD, 750 GB Internal HD, Pro Tools 10.3.8, Digidesign 003r, Waves 8.0, Final Cut Pro 7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2011, 08:54 AM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 404
Default Re: Problem trying to record Moog Slim Phatty

I have CPTK, so I've tried this with track input monitoring on and off, but no luck. It's really strange - when I'm not recording, but record armed, I can hear it fine. When I'm recording, nothing. I can see that MIDI is getting to the Slim Phatty but no audio is being outputted. I have no idea why - only happens with PT10. Was working with PT8 LE.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2012, 08:59 AM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 404
Default Re: Problem trying to record Moog Slim Phatty

Bump - anybody?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2012, 09:50 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Problem trying to record Moog Slim Phatty

MIDI THRU must be on..

Actually, it's kind of hard to say exactly what you are doing from your description... Are you trying to play the controller, record the MIDI and record the audio track at the same time? If so, then if MIDI thru is off, then the MIDI data will get recorded to the MIDI track, but it will not pass back out (thru) to the moog..

I forget the details of how and why MIDI THRU applies because I always just leave it on..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2012, 11:40 AM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 404
Default Re: Problem trying to record Moog Slim Phatty

Yes, exactly. I am trying to play the controller to the MIDI track and record both the MIDI and the audio from the Moog (onto an audio track who's input is the Moog) at the same time. I believe MIDI THRU is on. This works perfectly as I'm not recording - once the recording stops, I don't get any audio onto the audio track (even with input monitoring on).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2012, 12:32 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Problem trying to record Moog Slim Phatty

Is Local OFF? Can you record the playback of Slim Phatty programmed via MIDI track in Pro Tools?
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2012, 12:49 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Problem trying to record Moog Slim Phatty

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingy View Post
I believe MIDI THRU is on.
Either it is, or it is not. I am talking about in proTools... Figure that out for sure
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2012, 12:55 PM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 404
Default Re: Problem trying to record Moog Slim Phatty

MIDI Thru was on. I tried this again with a brand new, blank session and everything seems to be working fine. Maybe that other session got into some state where it wasn't working properly or something...? I don't know. I just noticed yesterday that if my instrument tracks had their input set to my audio interface inputs (and not record enabled), insert effects were not working or were panning the sound at the end of the clip hard right or hard left. It went away when I set the input to none. Not sure why this is or if it is even reproducible, but I'm guessing PT 10 has some random bugs that hopefully will get fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2012, 01:05 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Problem trying to record Moog Slim Phatty

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
Is Local OFF? Can you record the playback of Slim Phatty programmed via MIDI track in Pro Tools?
In addition to filo's questions, you also have not specified if you are getting the MIDI to record during your attempts..

Never mind... I guess you figured it out
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with 14-bit Midi in PT9 with a Moog Little Phatty Popstar_Merc Pro Tools 9 0 12-02-2011 12:05 PM
can i use midi info in protools to control my moog lil phatty? apregnantfetus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-05-2010 05:30 PM
Pro Tools 8.0 Moog + Midi problem...Help! koinkmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-02-2009 06:55 AM
How to slim down big "S"-es? karegranat Tips & Tricks 4 07-26-2007 04:12 PM
Problem with Moog Modulator Plugin Pbrain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-02-2006 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com