Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2004, 02:43 PM
Severe Severe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Beach, CA USA
Posts: 531
Default Anyone using Soundcraft M series?

This is looking like a good idea, but I have a few questions.

What do the converters sound like on this board? Would it be a noticeable improvement over the 001's converters if I were to begin tracking through this? I am aware that it is only S/PDIF out and no word clock, but that would be fine for me at this point. I'll be upgrading converters, etc. soon enough. I was just curious as to whether this would be a good(better) alternative to the 001's A/D for the time being as well as a great mixer for other applications.


thanks.
__________________
Mac Pro & G4 / PT's on 10.5.2 & 9.2.2 / HD & 001 / 7.4 & LE 6.4 32T Beta
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2004, 03:36 PM
ricupad ricupad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Helsinki Finland
Posts: 191
Default Re: Anyone using Soundcraft M series?

Hi,

I'm not using that, but I've heard that the mic pre's are the same as in Soundcraft's Spirit Ghost recording desk (quiet and transparent). I wouldn't by it to replace the A/D of the 001, but if it has direct outs, you could use it to add more xlr/mic pre inputs to your system.

R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2004, 03:47 PM
Severe Severe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Beach, CA USA
Posts: 531
Default Re: Anyone using Soundcraft M series?

yea, its got an out for each channel..which is nice.

Im not actually looking at it to replace the A/D of the 001, Im just wondering if I would notice a nice change in its A/D for the time being.
__________________
Mac Pro & G4 / PT's on 10.5.2 & 9.2.2 / HD & 001 / 7.4 & LE 6.4 32T Beta
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2004, 06:57 PM
rufmanj rufmanj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 33
Default Re: Anyone using Soundcraft M series?

I've got the M-12, but I've never used the converters. I'd be interested to know what they sound like also, just out of curiousity.

I love the pre's on it, though, which I use all the time. I have an RME ADI-8 for converters, so using the M-12 pres with the RME converters is a great combination, IMHO.

My $.02.

-Rufman
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2004, 08:07 PM
Severe Severe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Beach, CA USA
Posts: 531
Default Re: Anyone using Soundcraft M series?

Thanks guys.

Yea..that RME setup becomes an option. What do you think of your RME vs. Apogee's older psx-100. I know its got limited i/o, but if the Apogee's conversion is that much better I may go that way.

So..how do you have your M12 configured with your setup?


BTW- if your curious, why dont you unplug the RME and give the M12's A/D a try?
__________________
Mac Pro & G4 / PT's on 10.5.2 & 9.2.2 / HD & 001 / 7.4 & LE 6.4 32T Beta
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2004, 06:55 PM
Severe Severe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Beach, CA USA
Posts: 531
Default Re: Anyone using Soundcraft M series?

Have you tried summing through the M12 vs. in the box?

How is it?
__________________
Mac Pro & G4 / PT's on 10.5.2 & 9.2.2 / HD & 001 / 7.4 & LE 6.4 32T Beta
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2004, 06:31 PM
rufmanj rufmanj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 33
Default Re: Anyone using Soundcraft M series?

I basically use the preamps in the M-12 and then into the RME and into the 001 via optical.

I've never used the M-12 for summing - I just haven't done much experimenting with it. I know nothing about the apogee stuff either. I like M-12 because of the preamps, for one, but also because it's a good live mixer.

I have come up with a good combination (I think) with the RME and the M-12. So I concentrate more on the music now. I could drive myself nuts trying to think of what might be better, but I'd rather spend my energy on the music. I think creativity is a right-brained activity, and thinking about equipment is a left-brained activity. For a long time, I kept thinking of what would be my next purchase, and I wasn't creating. So once I got my rig where I wanted, I told the purchase agent in my mind to take a hike.

That's not to say that improving one's recording environment is bad. And I applaud you for being curious about experimenting. It's just once I bought the RME to convert the sound coming from the M-12, I felt I had the quality I was looking for. You know what I mean?

Anyway, if I experiment with the converters in the M-12 via S/PDIF, I'll let you know.

Good luck to you!

-Rufman
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2004, 10:11 PM
Severe Severe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Beach, CA USA
Posts: 531
Default Re: Anyone using Soundcraft M series?

yea, yea, yea....lol

agreed.

just like to ask questions before a purchase and I thank you for your time.
__________________
Mac Pro & G4 / PT's on 10.5.2 & 9.2.2 / HD & 001 / 7.4 & LE 6.4 32T Beta
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Soundcraft Console 800 Series Phil Pelissier Buy & Sell 3 02-13-2013 04:08 AM
CSCooper MCS Series vs EU Artist Series? GrievousAngel Artist Series 1 12-01-2010 01:10 PM
vintage soundcraft dmm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-10-2004 11:24 AM
soundcraft spirit m series...anyone using? djc8902 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-05-2003 12:59 AM
Soundcraft 600 and Digi 001 dwarner General Discussion 0 06-16-2001 08:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com