Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2014, 03:21 AM
dominf dominf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Default Problem loading (rather than playing) busy projects; starts claiming iLok issues

Whenever a project gets quite busy, iLok starts telling me that "Play could not verify the license for" one of the instruments I'm using upon loading the project.

To give you an idea of what "busy" is, I'm mostly writing for full orchestra at the moment, so the current project has 4 instances of EastWest's play engine, normally with 8 patches loaded in each. So far each of the 32 patches within the Play instruments has its own stereo aux channel with a Fabfilter Pro-C insert, then the string/woodwinds/brass/perc are routed to their own aux channels, each with reverb; it's normally about this point that I start getting the iLok problem when loading, but there's no single plug in that pushes it over, it changes with the project.

I'm rubbish with computers, but is it possible that it's not really an iLok issue, rather its some sort of resource problem claiming to be one? This VERY reliably starts when the project gets to about this level of complexity, though I haven't been able to distinguish the presence of any single plugin causing the problem). Very rarely (too rarely to just rely on repeatedly opening the project), the project can load fine, and once its loaded everything's golden. It sounds and behaves fine, and the resource monitor doesn't indicate my setup's being pushed too hard since I invested in all that RAM. It's the loading that's the problem.

If it makes any difference, the iLok is of course USB, as are 2 of the storage devices I'm using for libraries. and I never noticed this before but the USB3.0 ports I'd normally have the harddrives in just decided not to work during today's attempts to load the latest project. The drives weren't recognised again until I put them in empty USB2 ports, which didn't solve my problem.

Thanks!





SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Dominic-PC
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : GigaByte Z68X-UD3P-B3
Chassis : GigaByte Desktop
Mainboard : GigaByte Z68X-UD3P-B3
BIOS : Award (OEM) F3 04/08/2011
Total Memory : 32GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz (4C 8T 3.49GHz/3.8GHz, 3.5GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1155

Chipset
Memory Controller : Intel Core (Sandy Bridge) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 16GB DIMM DDR3 1.6GHz/1.33GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Crucial BLS8G3D1609DS1S00 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 4-39-12-6)
Memory Module : Crucial BLS8G3D1609DS1S00 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 4-39-12-6)
Memory Module : Crucial BLS8G3D1609DS1S00 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 4-39-12-6)
Memory Module : Crucial BLS8G3D1609DS1S00 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 4-39-12-6)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : ViewSonic Q2202WB
(1680x1050, 22.0")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 (7CU 336SP SM5.0 1.66GHz, 512kB L2, 1GB 4GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 (336SP 7C 1.66GHz, 512kB L2, 1GB 4GHz 256-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 (336SP 7C 1.66GHz, 512kB L2, 1GB 4GHz 256-bit)
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 (336SP 7C 1.66GHz, 512kB L2, 1GB 4GHz 256-bit)

Storage Devices
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB (500.1GB, SATA600, SSD) : 466GB (C:)
SAMSUNG SP2504C (250GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 8MB Cache) : 233GB (E:)
WDC WD6400AAKS-00A7B0 (640.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 596GB (F:)
Hitachi HDT725025VLA380 (250GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 7MB Cache) : 233GB (H:)
Hitachi HDT725050VLA380 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 7MB Cache) : 466GB (G:) (I:)
WDC WD10JMVW-11AJGS2 (1TB, USB2/SATA300, 5400rpm, 8MB Cache) : 931GB (L:)
ATAPI iHAS122 (39.8MB, SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 38MB (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB (500.1GB, SATA600, SSD)
Media (E:) : 233GB (NTFS) @ SAMSUNG SP2504C (250GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 8MB Cache)
Hard Disk (F:) : 596GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD6400AAKS-00A7B0 (640.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
SysRes (G:) : 100MB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDT725050VLA380 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 7MB Cache)
HW Diamond (L:) : 931GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD10JMVW-11AJGS2 (1TB, USB2/SATA300, 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Old C Drive (I:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDT725050VLA380 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 7MB Cache)
VidsPhotos (H:) : 233GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDT725025VLA380 (250GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 7MB Cache)
SAMSUNG SSD (D:) : 37MB (UDF) @ ATAPI iHAS122 (39.8MB, SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Gigabyte Cougar Point LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8728F
Audio Device : Gigabyte Cougar Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Device : Gigabyte GF110 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 0016
Audio Codec : 1 0001
Audio Codec : nVidia 0016
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Gigabyte Cougar Point 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Gigabyte Cougar Point 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Gigabyte 88SE9172 SATA III 6Gb/s RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Gigabyte Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 2 : Gigabyte Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
USB Controller 3 : Gigabyte Etron USB 3.0 Extensible Host Controller
USB Controller 4 : Gigabyte Etron USB 3.0 Extensible Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Gigabyte VIA VT6308 1394 OHCI Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : Canon Inkjet MP630 series (600x600, USB, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 7.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2014, 07:17 AM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Problem loading (rather than playing) busy projects; starts claiming iLok issues

Your system looks good to me. The motherboard does indeed support 32 GB of Ram. What version of Pro Tools are you using? Versions 10 and lower can only utilize about 4 GB of Ram. Version 11, being 64 bit can utilize much more. The problem with your USB 3 ports needs attention. Go to Control Panel, then Device Manager and scroll down to Universal Serial Bus Controllers. Click on each item, under General it should say "This device is working properly". If one or more do not say this, go to Driver tab and Update Driver. Beyond that, I am no computer expert either, so someone else will have to chime in.
__________________
"Whiskey Bottle...Brand New Car...Oak Tree You're in my Way" RVZ

Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2014, 07:36 AM
dominf dominf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Default Re: Problem loading (rather than playing) busy projects; starts claiming iLok issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjslakeridge View Post
Your system looks good to me. The motherboard does indeed support 32 GB of Ram. What version of Pro Tools are you using? Versions 10 and lower can only utilize about 4 GB of Ram. Version 11, being 64 bit can utilize much more. The problem with your USB 3 ports needs attention. Go to Control Panel, then Device Manager and scroll down to Universal Serial Bus Controllers. Click on each item, under General it should say "This device is working properly". If one or more do not say this, go to Driver tab and Update Driver. Beyond that, I am no computer expert either, so someone else will have to chime in.
Thanks for your input, I'm using PT11. I restarted the computer and the USB 3 ports are working fine, and I even finally got the project open so I'm sorted for another day until I shut down and have to tackle the issue again. I mentioned the USB thing because I thought maybe the fact that they stopped working could reflect a USB-related problem that might also be related to my iLok error in busy projects, since the two USB 3 ports are used for hard disks containing sample libraries and the iLok error occurs while loading patches.

The main thing is, once the project's open (which it does after enough attempts) everything's great, so my assumption is that its some resource problem specific to loading the project, and that it may cause or be caused by USB problems. But that's my very uneducated guess!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2014, 07:49 AM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Problem loading (rather than playing) busy projects; starts claiming iLok issues

Glad you got it working again. Sometimes a reboot helps things. If you want to know how your Ram is being utilized, open up one of your biggest sessions and then open up Task Manager (Ctrl+Alt+Del). Then click on the Performance tab and click on Open Resource Monitor near the bottom of that screen. Then click on the Memory tab and you can see how much memory each process is using. On the bottom of the screen you can see how the memory is allocated. Make sure all 32 GB are accounted for.
__________________
"Whiskey Bottle...Brand New Car...Oak Tree You're in my Way" RVZ

Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
on PT8 LE The cursor starts playing just before the location it is parked at bissodj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 28 09-22-2009 01:14 PM
problem with plug-ins when protools starts playing musicismusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-05-2008 08:19 AM
SLOW loading of big projects jjmanton Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 02-16-2008 01:47 AM
LOADING UP NON PROTOOLS PROJECTS... DLinares 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-17-2006 05:29 PM
How much time before the music starts playing? ixnys Tips & Tricks 5 10-12-2003 02:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com