Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2011, 01:50 PM
viaspiaggia viaspiaggia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 396
Default Mac monitor issues

Hi, I have a MacPro 1,1 Dual-Core Intel Xeon 2x2GHz, running PT9.0.3 on 10.6.7.

I've used both monitor outputs for years, with assorted LED monitors; for the last year they've been running over 15' extenders so I can get my machine out of my studio.

My main monitor blinks black once each morning at some point, but with no other symptoms or problems.

In the last 36 hours, however, both of the monitors started blinking blue - looks like I changed the resolution, but I didn't. Yesterday it was tolerable, a few times over the course of the evening. This morning it's too much to bear, more or less constant in and out of blue screens.

I did some troubleshooting and it seems to be the second monitor port. If I have one monitor (either monitor) hooked up to the first port, all is well. Any monitor (with or without extender, even an old tube) added to the second port causes the blue blinking.

I've reset PRAM.

Anything else I can do or investigate before needing to buy a replacement graphics card? If I need to bite the bullet, any recommendations on a decent card to get as a replacement?

Thanks!
__________________
adamfrick.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2011, 03:42 PM
degs7 degs7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 180
Default Re: Mac monitor issues

same thing happened to me a few months back, it ended up being a combo of graphics card and crappy cables. I ended up with a new graphics card, and some GREAT cables from monprice.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2011, 05:40 PM
viaspiaggia viaspiaggia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 396
Default Re: Mac monitor issues

weird. I *think* I've eliminated my cables as the culprit, but need to do some more careful troubleshooting later. of COURSE this happens with 3 projects trying to wrap in the next two weeks...

what monitor card did you get?
__________________
adamfrick.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2011, 06:05 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Mac monitor issues

I don't think you can go wrong with any new card but personally I would stay with a single with card
no need to add the heat to the box that the double wide cards do
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2011, 11:40 PM
IO Composer IO Composer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 676
Default Re: Mac monitor issues

Weird. I'm having the same exact issue here. For me, it's the connection of the cable to the video card which I know because if I jiggle it, all is right again. MiniDisplayPort extension cable was from monoprice and worked fine for the last 8 months. Just suddenly started having an issue. Strange.
__________________
Jamey Scott
Dramatic Audio Post, Inc.
Burbank, CA
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-13-2011, 10:56 AM
JC925602 JC925602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 769
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IO Composer View Post
Weird. I'm having the same exact issue here. For me, it's the connection of the cable to the video card which I know because if I jiggle it, all is right again. MiniDisplayPort extension cable was from monoprice and worked fine for the last 8 months. Just suddenly started having an issue. Strange.
Are the connectors gold plated? If not it may be corosion. Inserting and removing the connectors many time may temporarly cure the problem.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-14-2011, 07:44 AM
viaspiaggia viaspiaggia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 396
Default Re: Mac monitor issues

So I reset the SMC and upgraded my MacPro's firmware.

Then relocated the tower to do a step-by-step test. One monitor, no extensions, fine. Two monitors, no extensions, fine. Eventually, both monitors on extension cables, FINE! Worked off and on yesterday, though I'm not sure I even opened ProTools, and had no problems.

Shut down last night as usual, and this morning we're back where we started - frantic blue blinking.

Unplugged the second monitor and it's fine.

Going to order new extension cables as that seems a likely culprit, but anyone have any other thoughts on what this could be given the weekend's evidence?

Thanks!
__________________
adamfrick.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox 3 Pro/Lion Monitor Issues Garry R 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-30-2012 03:07 PM
Monitor issues. stelladat macOS 1 06-02-2011 09:52 AM
Monitor issues ShayShay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 01-06-2011 12:29 PM
Record/audition/monitor issues. PookaStew MIDI 1 07-09-2007 11:47 AM
pc monitor issues pk_hat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 06-12-2002 12:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com