Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2016, 09:42 AM
Defier Defier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 89
Default Do I need new speakers for Pro Tools

Hey everyone,

I have lowered my faders in PT 12.4 to -10Dbs instead of 0 to prevent clipping.

My computer desk USB speakers are maxed out and they are not very loud.

Is that an indication for new speakers such as the Rokit 5 G3 or such?

These are what I currently use: (http://prntscr.com/cfa8s8)

Thx, Defier
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2016, 09:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,249
Default Re: Do I need new speakers for Pro Tools

You would definetely want to have something better if you want to mix with your system. I use http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/8040BPM and I'm very happy, but is doesn't have to be that expensive.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2016, 09:56 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Do I need new speakers for Pro Tools

Depending on what your expectations are, I would say yes, it would be a good idea to get some better speakers.

What interface are you using, and what budget would you be looking at? Also, what type of music are you working with? Ideally you'll want a set of powered monitors like the Rokit you mentioned.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2016, 10:17 AM
Defier Defier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 89
Default Re: Do I need new speakers for Pro Tools

Thx for the replies,

I am using the PT 12.4 monthly sub and Focurite Scarlett Solo usb hooked up to my Korg microkey 61.
I am having fun composing epic scores with Action Strikes and NI brass/strings ensemble demos.
My budget is around $300 for now.

Thx, Defier
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2016, 10:51 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,608
Default Re: Do I need new speakers for Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by Defier View Post
...My budget is around $300 for now.
I think you'll get a lot of mileage from these:

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/deta...FYY0aQodC3cH6w
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2016, 02:57 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,631
Default Re: Do I need new speakers for Pro Tools

I second the JBL's and feel they beat everything in your price range by a country mile
( have owned the KRK's, Yamaha and M-Audio speakers with 5" woofers and the JBL's outperform them in every way, except for having a slightly low input sensitivity. They have input switches for -10 and +4, so setting them to the -10 position makes up for it BTW, GC has these on sale for $119 each
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2016, 03:22 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 222
Default Re: Do I need new speakers for Pro Tools

The fact that you are inquiring about "speakers" and not "reference monitors" doesn't quite indicate "mixing" needs.
IMHO you're better off investing in the best pair of studio headphones you can afford.

And remember, one thing leads to another in this biz.
If you want to invest in "mixing", count the cost.
If you have the monitors, you'll also need quality XLR cables, an interface with XLR outs, stands or a desk with a shelf that elevates the monitors to ear level, de-couplers and an acoustically treated ROOM etc.
Expensive monitors are pointless in an uncontrolled room as the room will influence your perception of sound more than you know.

Invest in studio headphones for starts.
Rest your ears often.

Beginner mix tip: Mix at low levels, and test louder low end levels in the car.

It's all going to be hit or miss without the room.
Quality over-ear headphones can provide an accurate and controlled reference.
You won't regret paying $199 on a reputable pair of AKG or Sennheiser studio headphones.

Last edited by take77; 09-07-2016 at 07:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2016, 04:49 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,084
Default Re: Do I need new speakers for Pro Tools

If headphones I'd try the Sennheiser HD380 Pros. Crystal clear with no added color and brutally honest.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2016, 07:52 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 222
Default Re: Do I need new speakers for Pro Tools

Good recommendation.
I know this post was a call for monitor suggestions but I just wanted to share my advice as someone who is NOT a mixing engineer.
I love learning about mixing and encourage you to do so.
It's by all means OK to have a cool little set up that you can afford.
I quit spending money trying to attain the means for mixing long ago.
If I could afford it, I would absolutely go all the way with it.
But again, it's all just pretending if I don't have a nice room.

It's not so much that room treatment is expensive, it's that there are so many other things on the wish list!
So my setup is simply geared for songwriting more so than mixing.
I'll rough mix with a couple sets of headphones the best I can.
An expensive pair and a cheap pair.

If you were to spend $199 on good headphones then you can use what's left over on an instrument expansion or an external drive. :)
My VI collection sounds way more like I'm in the studio or live room with a good set of cans on!

Last edited by take77; 09-07-2016 at 08:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2016, 12:28 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,249
Default Re: Do I need new speakers for Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by take77 View Post
An expensive pair and a cheap pair.
My recommendation for the cheap pair would be the Apple iPhone headset. That's what many of your potential customers are using
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT (?) : PRO TOOLS and Auratone Speakers worldsend Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 01-24-2011 02:42 AM
DEBATE: Using other speakers and crappy speakers to check mixes! DJ Hellfire Tips & Tricks 15 06-03-2010 08:46 PM
Pro Tools and Internal Speakers-Mac RCSS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-25-2008 07:55 PM
pro tools through computer speakers? dwkick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 07-20-2003 11:31 AM
pc speakers with pro tools free alf Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 07-24-2001 04:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com