Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 06-22-2013, 12:59 PM
samwise90 samwise90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2
Default Re: How's life in ProTool-land?

As I am an ableton man myself, this thread has persuaded me I need to take the plunge for pro tools. I just keep hearing good things about it.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 06-22-2013, 03:27 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: How's life in ProTool-land?

Quote:
Originally Posted by samwise90 View Post
As I am an ableton man myself, this thread has persuaded me I need to take the plunge for pro tools. I just keep hearing good things about it.
How many screwdrivers do you have in a set at home....???

Many different tools to accomplish an end.....hassle free all the time no....super tool kit....YES
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 06-26-2013, 08:55 AM
scrnplyr's Avatar
scrnplyr scrnplyr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Calabasas, Calif
Posts: 105
Default Re: How's life in ProTool-land?

the tool kit analogy is accurate

most of us want to push the limits of our ability to create high quality productions and we're willing to struggle thru various "tools" to find the ones that give us the best sound regardless of the flaws any particular tool might possess.

Any musician/production person worth their salt knows that nothing in this business comes easy...that line about "paying dues" applies to everyone who ever took the leap into the entertainment biz void.
__________________
AJF


Now: MacPro Tower OS 10.8 - PT10.3.5- MBox Pro - MACKIE preamp for monitoring only - WAVES PIs - a couple of AKG Mics - MAudio Key49
Then: ProTools 5-ish digi001 on a PC running Windows Millennium
BD (before digital)-from Tascam 8-track to Neve 64 - ran live audio for Club 88 in LA (Decline of Western Civilization) and Stage East in N Hollywood

"...this puts things into perspective...too much ****** perspective..." David St Hubbins and Nigel Tufnel standing over Elvis' grave.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 06-27-2013, 05:44 AM
samwise90 samwise90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2
Default Re: How's life in ProTool-land?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrnplyr View Post
the tool kit analogy is accurate

most of us want to push the limits of our ability to create high quality productions and we're willing to struggle thru various "tools" to find the ones that give us the best sound regardless of the flaws any particular tool might possess.

Any musician/production person worth their salt knows that nothing in this business comes easy...that line about "paying dues" applies to everyone who ever took the leap into the entertainment biz void.
Yeah, it's hard work. I make techno/house - I like abletons quick flow, but I think the way forward is moving over to pro tools and learning actual real sound design.

Will see how it goes!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Problem Protool 7,1,1 to Protool 8 wilrock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-29-2009 01:10 PM
Remaining in PT land... bigd Tips & Tricks 11 10-19-2004 08:37 AM
Hassle in Digi Land Deemac38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-07-2004 02:58 AM
Jump into TDM Land Camilo Orozco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-29-2003 11:36 AM
Trouble in DSP land..... bobdodgy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-04-2001 07:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com